Professional Geology

Get Licensed in Minnesota

Seeking initial licensure as a professional geologist?
Find below information on the education, examination, experience requirements, as well as application details and forms.

Already licensed in another state?
See the sidebar "Licensure by Comity (Reciprocal Licensure)."

For general application information relevant to all professions, see Get Licensed.

Initial Licensure

Education Overview

Applicants for licensure must hold a bachelor's or higher degree from an accredited institution of higher learning and a minimum of 30 semester or 45 quarter credits in geology divided among at least five of the geology areas of study in MN Rules 1800.3910 Subp. 5, items a-p, with a maximum of nine semester credits or 12 quarter credits applied to any one area.

Applicants may sit early for the Fundamentals of Geology (FG) Exam by meeting the minimum requirements in MN Rules 1800.3910 Subp. 2, but will still need to meet the education above to receive their Geologist-in-Training designation, to sit for the Principles of Geology (PG), and to be licensed.

For details on the above, see the application for the particular exam (below) or MN Rule 1800.3910 Subparts 1-5.

 

Experience Overview

When you apply for the PG Exam, you must provide evidence that you meet the qualifying experience requirements. Qualifying experience consists of varied, progressive, nonrepetitive, practical experience in geology and must be verified by a licensed geologist (MN Rule 1800.3910 Subp. 6).

You will need either four or five years of experience, depending upon the type of education you earned. Use the Experience Reference form, which is part of the PG Application Form packet, to document your experience. You must customize and send a copy to every supervisor verifying your experience. The completed form must be sent by the supervisor directly to the Board.

See MN Rule 1800.3910 Subp. 3(B-E) for more details regarding what experience is qualifying experience.

 

Examination Overview

In most instances, applicants must first pass the FG Exam and then the PG to be considered for licensure.

The FG and PG exams are pencil-and-paper exams administered by the Board at a location near the Board office in St. Paul.

Examination Application Packets

These application packets provide a wealth of information regarding the application process, including links to Minnesota rules and statutes. We encourage you to thoroughly review the instructions and the forms.

Fundamentals of Geology (FG) Exam Application
Practice of Geology (PG) Exam Application

 

Exam Appli­cation Deadlines

The FG and PG exams are developed by the Association of State Boards of Geology (ASBOG). They are paper-based and administered by the Board twice each year in St. Paul. You apply for a particular administration of the exam and must re-apply if you do not then sit.

FG & PG Exam DateBoard Appli­cation Dead­line
March 20, 2020 CLOSED
October 2, 2020August 3, 2020

Once your application for the exam is approved, you will receive location, schedule, and other details for this exam by mail.

 

Examination Costs

Exam Board Appli­cation Fee Exam Fee Total Due With Appli­cation
FG $25 $200$225*
PG $75$250$325*

*You must submit both the application and exam fees at the time of application to an exam. If your application is denied or withdrawn, the Board will refund the exam portion of your fee.

 

Next Steps After the Exams

Need to Retake an Exam?

See the applicable exam application form for how to reapply.

 

After Passing the FG Exam

The Board will officially notify you by mail once you pass the FG Exam. If you have already provided the Board with an official (sealed, sent directly from the institution) copy of your final transcript(s) showing all the required education, the Board will include your Geologist-in-Training (GIT) number with your notification. If you sat early for the FG exam, note that the Board will not issue a GIT number until they receive official transcript(s) showing you have met the education requirements.

Once you have your GIT number and the required experience, you can apply to sit for the PG exam.

 

After Passing the PG

Once you pass the PG exam, you will be instructed by mail how to apply for your license. The license fee is $120.

Note: You are not licensed and cannot practice or hold out as licensed until the Board processes your license and issues you a license number.

Regardless of when obtained, your license expires June 30th of every even-numbered year.

 

Additional Resources

Stay Connected

Minnesota Board of Architecture, Engineering, Land Surveying, Landscape Architecture, Geoscience and Interior Design (AELSLAGID)
85 E. 7th Place Suite 160, St. Paul MN 55101 USA

 8:00 am–4:30 pm, Monday-Friday
 (651) 296-2388
 TTY (800) 627-3529
 FAX (651) 297-5310
 Staff Directory

 

Receive eNews from the Board

Note: Email addresses are considered private data in Minnesota. Signing up for eNews is entirely "opt in": The only way to receive it is by signing up directly yourself.

Board staff cannot subscribe or unsubscribe you, or change your email address. Subscribers manage their own accounts using the links provided in the emails, once they have confirmed their subscription by replying to an initial "Subscription Confirmation Requested" email.