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U N P U B L I S H E D   O P I N I O N 

STONEBURNER, Judge 

Appellant challenges the district court‟s imposition of a mandatory minimum sentence 

for her conviction of fifth-degree controlled substance crime, arguing that because a deferred 

prosecution in Wisconsin was not a conviction, the provision of Minn. Stat. § 152.025, subd. 

3(b) (2008), imposing a mandatory minimum sentence for a subsequent controlled substance 

conviction, does not apply to her sentence.  We agree and reverse the imposition of the 

mandatory minimum sentence and remand for resentencing consistent with this opinion. 

FACTS 

 In July 2009, appellant Mia Nicole St. John pleaded guilty to one count of fifth-

degree controlled-substance crime committed on February 5, 2009, in violation of Minn. 

Stat. § 152.025, subds. 2(1), 3(a) (2008).  In exchange for her guilty plea, St. John was to 

receive a stay of adjudication pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 152.18 (2008), a maximum of 45 

days in jail, probation, a chemical-use assessment, and other court-imposed conditions.  

At the sentencing hearing, the district court concluded that St. John was not eligible for a 

stay of adjudication because a prior offense by St. John in Wisconsin triggered a 

mandatory 180-day sentence under Minn. Stat. § 152.025, subd. 3(b).   

 The district court acknowledged that the Wisconsin offense, which resulted in a 

deferred prosecution and dismissal of the charge in 2004, did not result in a conviction.  

Nonetheless, the district court imposed the jail time it determined was required by Minn. 

Stat. § 152.025, subd. 3(b), stayed imposition of sentence and placed St. John on 
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probation for five years.  The district court stayed 135 days of the jail time pending the 

outcome of this appeal.  
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D E C I S I O N 

 St. John argues that the deferred prosecution and ultimate dismissal of the 

Wisconsin charge was not a conviction under Minn. Stat. § 152.025, subd. 3(b),
1
 and 

therefore does not trigger the mandatory 180 days in jail required by that statute.  The 

state concedes that St. John‟s argument is correct. 

 A criminal sentence that is contrary to the requirements of the applicable 

sentencing statute is unauthorized by law.  State v. Cook, 617 N.W.2d 417, 419 (Minn. 

App. 2000), review denied (Minn. Nov. 21, 2000).  “Whether Minn. Stat. § 152.025, 

subd. 3(b), requires a mandatory minimum term of incarceration is a question of statutory 

construction which this court reviews de novo.”  State v. Bluhm, 676 N.W.2d 649, 651 

(Minn. 2004). 

Under Minn. Stat. § 152.025, subd. 3(b), “[i]f the conviction is a subsequent 

controlled substance conviction, a person convicted under subdivision 1 or 2 shall be 

committed to the commissioner of corrections or to a local correctional authority for not 

less than six months nor more than ten years.”  “„Conviction‟ means any of the following 

accepted and recorded by the court: (1) a plea of guilty; or (2) a verdict of guilty by a jury 

or a finding of guilty by the court.”  Minn. Stat. § 609.02, subd. 5 (2008).  And a second 

or subsequent violation or offense “means that prior to the commission of the violation or 

offense, the actor has been adjudicated guilty of a specified similar violation or offense.”  

Minn. Stat. § 609.02, subd. 11 (2008) (emphasis added).     

                                              
1
 Section 152.025, subdivision 3, was repealed in 2009.  2009 Minn. Laws ch. 83, art. 3, 

§ 24, at 1078.  But because St. John‟s crime was committed before July 1, 2009, the 2008 

version of the statute controls for purposes of her appeal.  Id. 
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Based on the definition of “second or subsequent offense” in Minn. Stat. § 609.02, 

subd. 11, and the fact that St. John was never adjudicated guilty of the Wisconsin offense 

or any other felony-level possession offense, the present conviction does not constitute a 

“subsequent controlled substance conviction” under section 152.025, subdivision 3(b).  

The district court erred in concluding that Minn. Stat. § 152.025, subd. 3(b) required the 

imposition of a 180 day sentence in this case.  We therefore reverse the sentence imposed 

and remand for resentencing consistent with this opinion and the plea agreement.  

Reversed and remanded. 


