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U N P U B L I S H E D   O P I N I O N 

WORKE, Judge 

  In this certified-question appeal, defendant challenges the district court’s denial of 

her motion to dismiss, arguing that the dishonored-check statute under which she was 

charged is unconstitutional.  The district court certified the following question: Does the 

disparity in the severity of punishment between Minn. Stat. § 609.535, subd. 2a(a)(1), 

and Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subd. 3(4), which arguably contemplate the same acts 

committed under the same circumstances by persons in like situations (writing worthless 

checks with an aggregate value more than $500), constitute an equal-protection violation 

as applied to defendant and those similarly charged in Minnesota?  We answer the 

certified question in the negative.  

FACTS  

 Defendant Diane Marie Cox was charged with one felony count of issuing 

dishonored checks—value more than $500, in violation of Minn. Stat. § 609.535, subd. 

2a(a)(1) (2008).  Defendant moved to dismiss the charge on equal-protection grounds, 

arguing that had she been charged with theft by check under Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subd. 

2(3)(i) (2008), she would have been charged with a gross misdemeanor.  The district 

court concluded that the equal-protection challenge failed, but certified the following 

question: 

  Does the disparity in the severity of punishment between 

Minn. Stat. § 609.535, subd. 2a(a)(1) and Minn. Stat. 

§ 609.52, subd. 3(4), which arguably contemplate the same 

acts committed under the same circumstances by persons in 

like situations (writing worthless checks with an aggregate 
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value over $500), constitute an Equal Protection violation as 

applied to [d]efendant and those similarly charged statewide? 

 

 D E C I S I O N 

 The constitutionality of a statute presents a question of law, which this court 

reviews de novo.  State v. Melde, 725 N.W.2d 99, 102 (Minn. 2006).  In doing so, we 

presume that Minnesota statutes are constitutional and will strike down a statute as 

unconstitutional only if absolutely necessary.  Id.  To prevail, a party challenging the 

constitutionality of a statute must demonstrate beyond a reasonable doubt that the statute 

violates a constitutional provision.  Miller Brewing Co. v. State, 284 N.W.2d 353, 356 

(Minn. 1979). 

 The Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment provides in relevant 

part that no state shall “deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of 

the laws.”  U.S. Const. amend. XIV, § 1.  “The purpose of the equal protection clause . . . 

is to secure every person within the state’s jurisdiction against intentional and arbitrary 

discrimination, whether occasioned by express terms of a statute or by its improper 

execution through duly constituted agents.”  Sioux City Bridge Co. v. Dakota County, 260 

U.S. 441, 445, 43 S. Ct. 190, 191 (1923) (quotation omitted).   

 “The guarantee of equal protection of the laws requires that the state treat all 

similarly situated persons alike.”  State v. Behl, 564 N.W.2d 560, 568 (Minn. 1997).  But 

it is only “invidious discrimination” that is deemed constitutionally offensive in an equal-

protection claim.  Scott v. Minneapolis Police Relief Ass’n, 615 N.W.2d 66, 74 (Minn. 

2000).  “An essential element of an equal protection claim is that the persons claiming 
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disparate treatment must be similarly situated to those to whom they compare 

themselves.”  St. Cloud Police Relief Ass’n v. City of St. Cloud, 555 N.W.2d 318, 320 

(Minn. App. 1996), review denied (Minn. Jan. 7, 1997).  Thus, “[a]n individual 

challenging a statute on equal protection grounds must demonstrate that the statute 

classifies individuals [either on its face or in practice] on the basis of some suspect trait.” 

State v. Frazier, 649 N.W.2d 828, 833-34 (Minn. 2002).  A statute challenged on equal-

protection grounds, therefore, is presumed constitutional unless a fundamental right or 

suspect class is involved.  State v. Benniefield, 678 N.W.2d 42, 45 (Minn. 2004).   

 Defendant concedes that she is not a member of a suspect class.  When an equal-

protection claim challenges a statutory classification, but the classification does not 

involve a suspect class, such as race or sex, we determine whether the classification has a 

rational basis.  Id. at 46.  The rational-basis standard is met if the classification has a 

legitimate governmental purpose and will reasonably promote that purpose.  Bd. of Trs. v. 

Garrett, 531 U.S. 356, 367, 121 S. Ct. 955, 964 (2001).  No particular purpose need be 

articulated if a reasonable hypothetical purpose may be inferred.  Id.  The rational-basis 

test includes three prongs: (1) the distinctions between those within the classification and 

those excluded must be genuine and substantial, providing a reasonable basis to justify 

the legislation adapted to a particular need; (2) the classification must be relevant to the 

purpose of the law, providing an evident connection between the distinctive needs of the 

class and the prescribed remedy; and (3) the statutory purpose must be one that the state 

can legitimately attempt to achieve.  State v. Russell, 477 N.W.2d 886, 888 (Minn. 1991).   
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 Defendant argues that the rational-basis test fails because it is illogical to impose a 

felony sentence for the lesser of two crimes.  See State v. Roden, 384 N.W.2d 456, 458 

(Minn. 1986) (holding that lesser offense of issuance of a worthless check is necessarily 

included within the more serious offense of theft by check).  This issue was addressed in 

State v. Dietz, which involved the theft of a car transmission valued less than $25.  264 

Minn. 551, 552, 119 N.W.2d 833, 834 (1963).  The defendants in Dietz were charged 

with grand larceny under a statute providing that it was second-degree grand larceny to 

steal property with a value less than $25 from an automobile, but it was only petit larceny 

to steal property worth between $25 and $100 from an automobile.  Id. at 554, 119 

N.W.2d at 835.  The defendants argued that it was unconstitutional for a statute to 

provide a greater penalty for a lesser offense.  Id. at 557, 119 N.W.2d at 837.  The 

defendants relied on an Oregon case, in which a statute provided for a harsher penalty for 

the crime of assault with intent to commit rape (life imprisonment or for a period of not 

more than 20 years) than for the crime of statutory or forcible rape (imprisonment for not 

more than 20 years).  Id.  Our supreme court noted that Oregon’s bill of rights included a 

provision that penalties shall be proportioned to the offense, but that “[w]e have no such 

provision in our constitution.”  Id.  In the Oregon case, the court stated that life 

imprisonment for an assault with intent to commit rape was not proportioned to the 

offense when the greater crime of rape authorized a sentence of not more than 20 years.  

Id. at 557-58, 119 N.W.2d at 837.  The court stated that:  

 In the Oregon case the penalties are of such a severe 

nature that even under our constitution it might be that the 

same result would be reached; but in view of the history of 
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our statute, the fact that penalty for the crime of which 

defendants are now charged has been the same before and 

after the amendment in 1955, and the fact that the penalty 

itself certainly does not shock the senses as being cruel and 

unusual, we cannot see that it violates our constitutional 

provision.   

 

Id. at 558, 119 N.W.2d at 837.  Thus, while an actor may be convicted of either the crime 

charged or an included offense, Minn. Stat. § 609.04, subd. 1 (2008), there is nothing 

providing that he or she cannot receive a harsher penalty if convicted of the lesser offense 

when the sentence does not shock the senses.  Here, the disparity in sentences is not 

enough to shock the senses.    

 Defendant also argues that the dishonored-check statute fails the rational-basis test 

because in 2007, the legislature amended the threshold amounts in the theft statute, 

making the stolen value of $500 to $1,000 a gross misdemeanor and more than $1,000 a 

felony.  See Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subd. 3(4).  The amendment was not made to the 

dishonored-check statute; the dishonored-check value of $500 and greater is a felony.  

See Minn. Stat. § 609.535, subd. 2a(a)(1).  Dietz is also relevant to this issue.  264 Minn. 

551, 119 N.W.2d 833.  The defendants in Dietz who were charged with second-degree 

grand larceny for stealing property worth less than $25 from a vehicle were charged 

under a statute that had been amended approximately six years earlier.  Id. at 554, 119 

N.W.2d at 834.  Under the second-degree grand-larceny statute, an amendment increased 

the value of property stolen from $25 to $100 to $100 to $500.  Id., 119 N.W.2d at 835.  

The value increase was not made to another part of the statute, an apparent result of 

inadvertence.  Id.  Thus, under the statute,  
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a person who [stole] property worth from $100 to $500 in any 

manner; [stole] property of any value from an automobile in 

the daytime; or property of a value less than $25 from an 

automobile in the nighttime is guilty of grand larceny in the 

second degree, but if he [stole] property worth between $25 

and $100 from an automobile in the nighttime he is guilty of 

only petit larceny. 

 

Id.   The court held that the statue did not deny the defendants equal protection of the 

laws because the legislature may classify crimes and prescribe the punishment therefore.  

Id. at 558, 119 N.W.2d at 837.  Here, as in Dietz, it may have been inadvertence that the 

dishonored-check statute was not amended; it may have been for some other reason.  

Regardless, the legislature did not exceed its authority to classify crimes and prescribe 

punishment because the statutes cover different acts.  Defendant did not meet her burden 

of showing that the statute fails the rational-basis test.   

 Defendant also argues that there is no purpose in exposing her to harsher 

punishment when there is a lesser penalty available for a crime contemplating similar 

conduct.  First, “[w]hen two statutes, one general and one specific, cover the same 

conduct, the specific statute controls the general statute, unless the legislature manifestly 

intends the general statute to control.”  State v. Lewandowski, 443 N.W.2d 551, 553 

(Minn. App. 1989).  The dishonored-check statute is more specific than the general theft 

statute.  And the statutes do not apply to the same conduct as defendant contends, 

providing for different offense elements and different burdens of proof.   

 Under the dishonored-check statue, “[w]hoever issues a check which, at the time 

of issuance, the issuer intends shall not be paid, is guilty of issuing a dishonored check 

and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 2a.”  Minn. Stat. § 609.535, subd. 2 
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(2008).  A person convicted of issuing a dishonored check may be sentenced “to 

imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than 

$10,000, or both, if the value of the dishonored check, or checks aggregated . . . is more 

than $500.”  Id., subd. 2a(a)(1), (b) (stating that the value of dishonored checks within 

any six-month period may be aggregated).  The statute further provides that intent may be 

demonstrated by proof that (1) at the time of issuance, the issuer did not have an account 

with the drawee; (2) at the time of issuance, the issuer had insufficient funds and the 

issuer failed to pay the check within five days after notice of nonpayment; or (3) when 

presentment was made within a reasonable time, the issuer had insufficient funds and 

failed to pay the check within five days after notice of nonpayment.  Id., subd. 3 (2008). 

 Under the theft statute, a person commits a theft when obtaining property by 

intentionally deceiving an individual with a false representation, which is known to be 

false, made with intent to defraud, and which does defraud the person to whom it was 

made.  Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subd. 2(3).  A false representation includes the “issuance of 

a check . . . knowing that the actor is not entitled to draw upon the drawee therefor.”  Id., 

subd. 2(3)(i).  The penalty is “imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of 

a fine of not more than $3,000, or both, if the value of the property or services stolen is 

more than $500 but not more than $1,000.”  Id., subd. 3(4).       

  The dishonored-check statute appropriately covers the conduct here because each 

time defendant issued a check, the recipients of the dishonored checks sent notice and 

demand for payment to defendant, which is included in the dishonored-check statute but 

not in the theft statute.  And the fact that there may be reasons, such as a lesser penalty, 
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for defendant wanting to be prosecuted under one statute rather than another that “does 

not mean that a prosecutor is obligated to prosecute [her] that way.” State v. Love, 350 

N.W.2d 359, 361 (Minn. 1984).    

 Additionally, in State v. Barnes, the appellant was convicted of first-degree 

domestic-abuse murder and argued that the statute violated the Equal Protection Clause 

because the elements of the crime overlapped with those of third-degree depraved-mind 

murder.  713 N.W.2d 325, 328 (Minn. 2006).  The appellant argued that there was no 

significant difference between the culpable mental state required by the two statutes and 

that the huge disparity in the two sentences violated equal protection.  Id. at 330.  The 

appellant relied on an equal-protection analysis of Professor Wayne R. LaFave’s 

classification of three types of overlapping statutes and the equal-protection implication 

of each.  Id.  The three classifications include: (1) one statute defines a lesser included 

offense of the other and they carry different penalties—this classification is considered 

“certainly unobjectionable”; (2) the statutes overlap and carry different penalties—this 

classification is considered a “harder case”; and (3) the statutes are identical—this 

category is considered “highly objectionable.”  Id. at 330-31.  The court determined that 

the statutes were not sufficiently overlapping to present equal-protection concerns 

because they punish very different conduct.  Id. at 331.   

 Here, the two statutes fall under the first category—lesser-included offense.  

Roden, 384 N.W.2d at 458.  This type of overlap in statutes is “certainly unobjectionable” 

because the statutes “afford guidance to the prosecutor, but . . . do not foreclose the 

prosecutor from deciding” under which statute the defendant will be prosecuted.  
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4 Wayne R. LaFave, et al., Criminal Procedure § 13.7(a) at 256 (3d ed. 2007).  The 

prosecutor had discretion in charging; thus, defendant has not shown that the statute fails 

the rational-basis test.   

 Finally, when a defendant fails to show that he or she is treated differently from 

similarly situated individuals, an as-applied equal-protection argument fails.  Reed v. 

Albaaj, 723 N.W.2d 50, 55 (Minn. App. 2006) (holding that service member confined in 

military prison for crimes committed while in military service is not similarly situated to 

service members not so confined).  In State v. Richmond, the appellant argued that the 

third-degree controlled-substance-crime statute violated equal-protection guarantees 

because “it provides more severe punishment for purportedly the same conduct 

proscribed under the fourth-degree statute and committed under the same circumstances 

by similarly situated persons.”  730 N.W.2d 62, 70-71 (Minn. App. 2007), review denied 

(Minn. June 19, 2007).  We held that the appellant failed “to make any showing that 

others similarly situated were prosecuted under the less severe fourth-degree statute 

rather than the third-degree statute.”  Id. at 73.  The court determined that the appellant 

could not merely rely on the “potential for discriminatory enforcement.”  Id.  Thus, under 

Minnesota law, “[t]he possibility that a law may actually fail to operate with equality is 

not enough to invalidate it.”  John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Comm’r of Revenue, 497 

N.W.2d 250, 254 (Minn. 1993) (quotation omitted).  Defendant fails to show disparate 

treatment; therefore, her equal-protection challenge fails.  

 Certified question answered in the negative. 


