You are completing a worksheet for a new Minnesota offense, committed on 8/1/2013. There is a prior Wisconsin theft listed below; assume the theft is equated to the Minnesota theft statute 609.52.

Date of Offense
Offense
Disposition
09/27/09  Wisconsin Theft of $750

12/15/09: Adj. Guilty; Stay of Ex. 13 months

  • Would the offense be used in the felony section of the new worksheet?

    No, because the amount of the property stolen was under $1,000 it would not equate to a Minnesota felony. Despite the sentence imposed, this offense would go in the gross misdemeanor section for 1 unit because the amount stolen exceeds the $500 gross misdemeanor threshold.