
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission 
 

Proposed Amendments to the  
Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary 

Prospective Effective Date: August 1, 2015 
 
 
The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, 
July 15, 2015, at 2:00 p.m. in Room 200, at the State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin 
Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155. The Commission will consider the following 
proposed amendments to the Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary resulting from new 
and modified legislation, non-legislative amendments, and technical amendments. 
 
The Commission will hold the record open for five days after the public hearing to accept 
written comment. On Wednesday, July 22, 2015, the Commission will meet at 2:00 p.m. in 
Room 225 at the Minnesota Judicial Center, 25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, 
MN  55155, to formally adopt or reject the proposed amendments. If adopted, amendments 
become effective August 1, 2015. 
 
 
A. New Legislation (New Offense from the 2015 Legislative Session). The Commission 

reviewed one felony offense that was newly enacted by the 2015 Legislature, and 
proposes severity-level rankings as follows. 
 
• Wrongful Employment at a Child Care Center 

 
 Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 78, § 59; Minn. Stat. § 609.52 (2014) 

 
Description: A new felony for wrongful employment at a child care center will be 
codified at Minn. Stat. § 609.816. This applies to persons who require child care center 
applicants or employees to have one or more children who are eligible for or receive 
child care assistance. The crime is punishable under the theft penalty provisions in 
Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subd. 3, clauses (1) to (5) which range from misdemeanor to 
felony depending on the monetary value of the theft. 

 
Commission Proposal: Add “609.816, Wrongful Employment at a Child Care Center” 
to the Theft Offense List in Section 7, and reference the new offense in section 5.B at 
Severity Level 3 (Over $5,000) and Severity Level 2 ($5,000 or Less), as follows. 

 
Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 
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Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.816 Wrongful Employment at a Child Care 
Center (Over $5,000) 

3 

609.816 Wrongful Employment at a Child Care 
Center ($5,000 or Less) 

2 

 
* * * 

Section 7.  Theft Offense List 
 
It is recommended that the following property crimes be treated similarly. Below 

is the Theft Offense List cited for the Theft Crimes ($5,000 or less and over 

$5,000) in section 5.A Offense Severity Reference Table. The severity level for 

these offenses is based on the monetary amount of the conviction offense. The 

monetary amount is contained in the penalty statute as cited below:  

 

• Severity Level 2. When the monetary value of the Theft Crime is $5,000 or 

less, the penalty statute is Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subdivision 3(3)(a).  

• Severity Level 3. When the monetary value of the Theft Crime is over 

$5,000, the penalty statute is Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subdivision 3(2).  

* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title 

609.816 Wrongful Employment at a Child Care Center 

 
* * * 
 

 
B. Modified Legislation—Modified Offenses from the 2015 Legislative Session. 
 

The following are felony offenses (unless otherwise noted) modified by the 2015 
Legislature. In some cases, the modifications expanded definitional statements; in others, 
the modifications expanded the scope of the offense. For each offense listed below, taking 
the modification into consideration, the Commission decided if the Guidelines needed 
amending including whether offenses should be re-ranked and whether there should be 
any amendments to the permissive consecutive offense list in Guidelines section 6. 
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1. Extended Protection and Mandatory Minimum, Fourth-Degree Assault 
 

 Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 23 § 1; Minn. Stat. § 609.2231 (2014) 
 

Description: Fourth-degree assault protections were extended to employees 
supervising and working directly with mentally-ill and dangerous patients by 
modifying Minn. Stat. § 609.2231, subd. 3a. 
 
Commission Proposal: 1) maintain Severity Level 1 ranking in section 5 because the 
statutory maximum remained two years; 2) keep assault in the fourth degree on the 
list of offenses in section 6 which are eligible for permissive consecutive sentences; 
3) update fourth-degree assault offense titles, as listed in section 5.B, to reflect 
statutory changes to fourth-degree assault enacted since 2004; 4) update Appendix 
1; and 5) revise the footnote in section 5.B pertaining to fourth-degree assault. The 
proposed amendments follow. 
 
Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 
  

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.2231 subd. 1 Assault 4th Degree (Bodily Harm, Peace 
Officer) 

1 

609.2231 subd. 2 Assault 4th Degree (Bodily Harm, 
Firefighters and Emergency Medical 
Personnel) 

1 

609.2231 subd. 3 Assault 4th Degree (Bodily Harm, 
Corrections Employee, Prosecutor, Judge, 
Probation Officer) 

1 * 

609.2231 subd. 3a Assault 4th Degree (Bodily Harm, Secure 
Treatment Facility Personnel) 

1 * 

 
* See section 2.C and Appendix 1 to determine the presumptive disposition for a felony assault 
committed by an State prison inmate serving an executed term of imprisonment or for assault on 
secure treatment facility personnel by persons committed to the Minnesota Sex Offender 
Program. 
 
* * * 
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Appendix 1.  Mandatory and Presumptive Sentences Reference Table 
 
This table is for convenience when applying mandatory sentences (section 2.E) 
and presumptive sentences (section 2.C).  It is not exhaustive. 
 
* * * 
 
Statute Offense Prerequisite or 

Conditions 
Minimum 
Duration 

609.221, 609.222, 
609.223, – 
609.2231or 
609.224 

Assault 1st through 5th 
Degree 

Committed by State 
prison inmate while 
confined (609.2232) 
Must commit during 
“Term of 
Imprisonment” 
portion of executed 
sentence 

Grid Time, 
Consecutive 

609.2231, subd. 
3a(b) 

Assault 4th Degree Committed by person 
committed to the 
Minnesota Sex 
Offender Program 

Grid Time 

 
* * * 
 
 

2. Engage or Hire Minor to Engage in Prostitution Elements Revised 
 

Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 65, art. 6, §§ 11-12; Minn. Stat. § 609.324 (2014) 
 
Description: The prostitution statute was modified making the hiring of an adult 
prostitute a felony if the patron reasonably believes the prostitute to be a child 
under Minn. Stat. § 609.324, subd. 1(c). The fact that an undercover operative or law 
enforcement officer was involved is not a defense. 
 
Commission Proposal: 1) maintain the Severity Level 3 ranking in section 5 because 
the statutory maximum remains the same (5 years); and 2) keep engaging or hiring a 
minor to engage in prostitution on the list of offenses in section 6 which are eligible 
for permissive consecutive sentences. No amendments to the Guidelines are 
proposed. 
 
 

3. Fifth-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct Elements Revised 
 

Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 65, art. 6, § 14; Minn. Stat. § 609.3451 (2014) 
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Description: Fifth-degree criminal sexual conduct (CSC 5) under Minn. Stat.                           
§ 609.3451, subd. 1, was expanded to include intentionally touching the body or 
clothing with semen. 
 
Commission Proposal: 1) maintain the Severity Level F ranking in section 5 because 
the statutory maximum remains the same (7 years); and 2) keep CSC 5 on the list of 
offenses in section 6 which are eligible for permissive consecutive sentences. No 
amendments to the Guidelines are proposed. 
 
 

4. Change Offense Title to Include Ammunition, Certain Persons Not to Have 
Firearms 

 
Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 65, art. 3, §§ 16-20, 26, & 33; Minn. Stat. §§ 609.02, 
609.11, 609.165, 624.713, & 624.715 (2014). 
 
Description: A definition for ammunition under Minn. Stat. § 609.02, subd. 17 was 
added. Persons who are not allowed to possess firearms are not allowed to possess 
ammunition, and felons previously convicted of a crime of violence who do so are 
subject to the 5-year mandatory minimum prison sentence under Minn. Stat.                       
§ 609.11.  
 
Commission Proposal: Amend sections 5.A and 5.B to add “or Ammunition” after 
“Certain Persons Not to Have Firearms” in the existing offense titles, as follows. 
 
Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 
 
* * * 

 

Severity 
Level Offense Title Statute Number 

6 Certain Persons Not to Have Firearms 
or Ammunition 

624.713, subd. 2(b); 
609.165, subd. 1b 

3 Dangerous Weapons/Certain Persons 
Not to Have Firearms or Ammunition 

609.67, subd. 2; 
624.713, subd. 2(a) 

 
* * * 
 
 
Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 
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Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.165 subd. 1b Certain Persons Not to Have Firearms or 
Ammunition 

6 

624.713 subd. 2(a) Certain Persons Not to Have Firearms or 
Ammunition 

3 

624.713 subd. 2(b) Certain Persons Not to Have Firearms or 
Ammunition 

6 

  
* * * 
 
Note: Following the Commission’s vote on the proposal, above, staff identified  
changes that must be made to comment 2.E.03 and Appendix 2, as well. Consistent 
with the Commission’s intent to conform the offense title to the statutory change, the 
following amendment is also proposed.  
 
2.E.03.  Some offenses by statutory definition involve a dangerous weapon, and 

therefore the mandatory minimum provision dealing with dangerous weapons 

always applies: Assault in the Second Degree under Minn. Stat. § 609.222; Certain 

Persons Not to Have Firearms or Ammunition under Minn. Stat. §§ 624.713, subd. 

2(b) and 609.165, subd. 1b; Drive-By Shootings under Minn. Stat. § 609.66; and 

Stalking (Aggravated Violations) and Possessing a Dangerous Weapon under 

Minn. Stat.  § 609.749, subd. 3(a)(3). The presumptive disposition for these types 

of offenses is imprisonment and the presumptive duration is the mandatory 

minimum sentence prescribed for the conviction offense or the cell time, 

whichever is longer. * * * 

 
Appendix 2.  Dangerous Weapons Offense Reference Table 

* * * 
Dangerous Weapons – Minn. Stat. § 609.11 
Statute Offense Prerequisite or Conditions Minimum 

Duration 
609.11, 
subd. 5(b) 

Certain Persons not to 
have Firearms or 
Ammunition 

Current conviction under Minn. 
Stat. § 609.165 or Minn. Stat.       
§ 624.713 subd. 1(2) 

60 
Months  

 
* * * 
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5. Change Offense Title, Firearm Suppressor 
 
Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 65, art. 3, §§ 19-20; Minn. Stat. § 609.66 (2014) 
 
Description: The bill permits firearm suppressors (formerly known as “silencers”) 
to be possessed if lawfully possessed under federal law. The bill also amends the title 
of the reckless discharge offense under Minn. Stat. § 609.66 by striking “silencers” and 
inserting “suppressors.” The law clarifies that it is lawful to carry a firearm in the 
Capitol area provided there was an issuance of a permit to carry. 
 
Commission Proposal: Amend sections 5.A and 5.B to strike “silencer” and add 
“suppressor” in the existing offense titles, as follows. 
 
Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 
 
* * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

2 Firearm Silencer Suppressor 609.66 subd. 1a(a)(1) 

3 Firearm Silencer Suppressor (Public 
Housing, School or Park Zone) 

609.66 subd. 1a(a)(1) 

 
* * * 
 
Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.66 subd. 1a(a)(1) Firearm Silencer Suppressor 2 

609.66 subd. 1a(a)(1) Firearm Silencer Suppressor (Public 
Housing, School or Park Zone) 

3 

  
  
* * * 
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6. Financial Transaction Card Fraud Expanded to Include Trafficking of SNAP 
Benefits 
 

 Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 78, § 60; Minn. Stat. § 609.52 (2014) 
 
Description: Financial Transaction Card Fraud was amended to include trafficking of 
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits. 
 
Commission Proposal: Continue to rank financial transaction card fraud at Severity 
Level 2 when the value was at $2,500 or less but more than $250; Severity Level 3 
when the value was more than $2,500; and Severity Level 5 when the value was more 
than $35,000. No amendments to the Guidelines are proposed. 
 

7. Treat New Gross Misdemeanor Reckless Driving Like Non-Traffic Gross 
Misdemeanors for Purposes of Criminal History Score 
 

 Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 65, art. 6, § 3; Minn. Stat. § 169.13, subd. 1 (a) (2014) 
 
Description: The crime of reckless driving under Minn. Stat. §169.13, subd. 1 (a) was 
amended to read: “A person who drives a motor vehicle while aware of and 
consciously disregarding a substantial and unjustifiable risk that the driving may 
result in harm to another or another’s property is guilty of reckless driving. The risk 
must be of such a nature and degree that disregard of it constitutes a significant 
deviation from the standard of conduct that a reasonable person would observe in 
the situation.” A new gross misdemeanor is established if a person causes great bodily 
harm or death to another person. 
 
Commission Proposal: 1) an offender will receive a custody status point for being in 
a custody status for gross misdemeanor reckless driving; and 2) an offender will 
receive one unit for a prior conviction of gross misdemeanor reckless driving. The 
proposed amendments are as follows. 
 
Section 2.B. Criminal History 
 
* * * 
 

2. Custody Status at the Time of the Offense. 
 

a. One Custody Status Point.  Assign one custody status point when the 
conditions in paragraphs (1) through (3) are met: 

* * * 
(3) The offender was under one of the custody statuses in paragraph 

(1) for one of the following: 
(i) a felony; 
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(ii) extended jurisdiction juvenile (EJJ) conviction; 
(iii) non-traffic gross misdemeanor; 
(iv) gross misdemeanor driving while impaired, or refusal to 

submit to a chemical test, or reckless driving; or 
(v) targeted misdemeanor. 

* * * 
 

3. Prior Gross Misdemeanors and Misdemeanors.  Prior gross misdemeanor 
and misdemeanor convictions count as units comprising criminal history 
points. Four units equal one criminal history point; give no partial point for 
fewer than four units.  Determine units as specified in this section.  
 
a. General Assignment of Units.  If the current conviction is for an offense 

other than criminal vehicular homicide or operation or felony driving 
while impaired (DWI), assign the offender one unit for each prior 
conviction of the following offenses provided the offender received a 
stayed or imposed sentence or stay of imposition for the conviction 
before the current sentencing:  

* * * 
(4) gross misdemeanor refusal to submit to a chemical test; 

 
(5) gross misdemeanor reckless driving; 

 
(6) a felony conviction resulting in a misdemeanor or gross 

misdemeanor sentence. * * * 
 
Note: Following the Commission’s vote on the proposal, above, staff identified changes that 
must be made to comments 2.B.205 and 2.B.303, as well. Consistent with the Commission’s 
intent to apply a custody status point to an offender for being in a custody status for gross 
misdemeanor reckless driving and an offender receiving one unit for a prior conviction of gross 
misdemeanor reckless driving, the following amendments are also proposed. 

 
2.B.205.  The custodial statuses covered by this policy are those occurring after 
conviction of a felony, non-traffic gross misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor 
driving while impaired or refusal to submit to a chemical test, gross misdemeanor 
reckless driving, or misdemeanor on the targeted misdemeanor list provided in 
Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, subd. 1(e). Thus, an offender who commits a new felony 
while on pre-trial diversion or pre-trial release on another charge does not get a 
custody status point.  Likewise, offenders serving a misdemeanor sentence for an 
offense not on the targeted misdemeanor list provided in Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, 
subd. 1(e), do not receive a custody status point, even if the court imposed the 
misdemeanor sentence upon conviction of a gross misdemeanor or felony. * * * 
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2.B.303.  The Commission placed a limit of one point on the consideration of 
misdemeanors or gross misdemeanors in the criminal history score. This was 
done because, with no limit on point accrual, offenders with lengthy, but 
relatively minor, misdemeanor records could accrue high criminal history scores 
and thus be subject to inappropriately severe sentences upon their first felony 
conviction. The Commission limited consideration of misdemeanors to 
particularly relevant misdemeanors under existing state statute. Offenders whose 
criminal record includes at least four prior sentences for misdemeanors on the 
targeted misdemeanor list provided in Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, subd. 1(e), non-
traffic gross misdemeanors, gross misdemeanor reckless driving, and gross 
misdemeanor driving while impaired or refusal to submit to a chemical test are 
considered more culpable and are given an additional criminal history point. * * * 

 
8. Change Offense Title, Terroristic Threats 

 
Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 21, art. 1, § 109, subd. 10; Minn. Stat. § 609.713 
(2014) 
 
Description: The modification did not affect the criminal provisions, but created the 
need to change several references in the Guidelines. The headnote of Minn. Stat.              
§ 609.713 was changed from "Terroristic Threats" to "Threats of Violence.” 
 
Commission Proposal: Authorize technical changes to the Guidelines, as follows. 
 
Section 2.C. Presumptive Sentence 
 
* * * 
2.C.06. There are rare instances where the presumptive sentence length exceeds 
the statutory maximum sentence. If this situation occurs, the statutory maximum 
sentence becomes the presumptive sentence. For example, Terroristic Threats of 
Violence under Minn. Stat. § 609.713, subd. 3(a)(1) or (2) carries a statutory 
maximum sentence of 12 months and 1 day. * * * 
 
Section 2.D. Departures from the Guidelines 
 
* * * 
 
2.D.105. Under Minn. Stat. § 609.13, if a court pronounces a misdemeanor or 
gross misdemeanor sentence for a felony conviction, that conviction is deemed a 
gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor. The sentence is a departure because it is 
outside the appropriate range on the applicable Grid. Because courts sometimes 
fail to issue departure reports in these cases, section 2.D was amended to clarify 
that if the court stays or imposes a gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor sentence 
for a felony conviction, the sentence is a departure. 
 
In contrast, if the prosecutor amends the charge to a gross misdemeanor or 
misdemeanor offense prior to conviction, a gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor 
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sentence will not be a departure because the sentence will be consistent with the 
level of the charge. When the prosecutor amends the charge, the prosecutor 
must amend it to an existing offense. For example, there is no gross 
misdemeanor version of terroristic threats of violence (Minn. Stat. § 609.713) in 
statute, so a terroristic threats charge of threats of violence cannot be amended 
from a felony to a gross misdemeanor. * * * 
 
Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 
 
* * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

4 
Terroristic Threats of Violence 
(Terror/Evacuation) 

609.713, subd. 1 

2 
Terroristic Threats of Violence (Bomb 
Threat) 

609.713, subd. 2 

1 
Terroristic Threats of Violence 
(Replica Firearm) 

609.713, subd. 3(a) 

 
* * * 
 
Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.713, subd. 1 Terroristic Threats of Violence - Violence 
Threat (Terror/Evacuation) 

4 

609.713, subd. 2 Terroristic Threats of Violence – (Bomb 
Threat) 

2 

609.713, subd. 3(a) Terroristic Threats of Violence – (Replica 
Firearm) 

1** 

  
 ** See section 2.C.2 and Appendix 3 to determine the presumptive duration. Depending on the offender’s 

criminal history score, the presumptive duration may exceed the statutory maximum. * * * 
 

Note: Following the Commission’s vote on the proposal, above, staff identified changes that 
must be made to section 6 and Appendix 3, as well. Consistent with the Commission’s intent 
to conform the offense title to the statutory change, the following amendment is also 
proposed. 
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Section 6. Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive Sentences 
 
* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title 

609.713, subd. 1 Terroristic Threats of Violence - Violence Threat 
(Terror/Evacuation) 

609.713, subd. 2 Terroristic Threats of Violence – (Bomb Threat) 

609.713, subd. 3(a) Terroristic Threats of Violence – (Replica Firearm) 
  
* * * 
 
Appendix 3. Presumptive Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutory 
Maximum Sentence Reference Table 
 
* * * 

Statute Offense 
Severity 
Level 

Statutory 
Maximum 
(Months) 

Exceeds 
Statutory 
Maximum At: 

609.713, 
subd. 3(a) 

Terroristic Threats of 
Violence – (Replica 
Firearm) 

1 12, and 1 
Day 

CHS 3 

* * * 
 

C. Non-Legislative Amendments 
 

The following are proposed non-legislative amendments to the Guidelines. 
 

1. Rank Medical Assistance Fraud Over $35,000 at Severity Level 6 
 

Description: The Guidelines rank particular theft offenses that exceed $35,000, at a 
severity level higher than Severity Level 3. 
 
Commission Proposal: Rank medical assistance fraud over $35,000 at Severity Level 
6, and remove it from the theft offense list, as follows. 
   

 
Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 
 
* * * 
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Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

6 Medical Assistance Fraud (Over $35,000) 609.466 

3 Medical Assistance Fraud (Over $5,000) 609.466 

2 Medical Assistance Fraud ($5,000 or Less) 609.466 

 
 
* * * 
 
Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.466 Medical Assistance Fraud (Over $35,000) 6 

609.466 Medical Assistance Fraud (Over $5,000) 3 

609.466 Medical Assistance Fraud ($5,000 or Less) 2 
  
  
* * * 
 

 
Section 7. Theft Offense List 
 
It is recommended that the following property crimes be treated similarly. Below 
is the Theft Offense List cited for the Theft Crimes ($5,000 or less and over 
$5,000) in section 5.A Offense Severity Reference Table. The severity level for 
these offenses is based on the monetary amount of the conviction offense. The 
monetary amount is contained in the penalty statute as cited below: 
 
• Severity Level 2.  When the monetary value of the Theft Crime is $5,000 or 

less, the penalty statute is Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subdivision 3(3)(a). 
 

• Severity Level 3.  When the monetary value of the Theft Crime is over $5,000, 
the penalty statute is Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subdivision 3(2). 

 
* * * 
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Statute Number Offense Title 

609.466 Medical Assistance Fraud 

 
* * * 
 
 

2. Clarify Application of Guidelines Upon Revocation of Stay of Adjudication 
 

Description: If the initial sentence following felony conviction is commitment to the 
Commissioner of Corrections and the Guidelines recommend a stayed sentence, the 
decision to sentence to prison is an aggravated dispositional departure. This is true 
even if the felony conviction results from the revocation of a previously granted stay 
of adjudication. 
 
Commission Proposal: Amend the Guidelines to make it explicit that a revocation of 
a stay of adjudication to a prison commitment is an aggravated dispositional 
departure if a stayed sentence is presumptive, as follows. 
 
Section 2.C. Presumptive Sentence 

* * * 
2.C.10.  Because a stay of adjudication is not a felony conviction, the Guidelines 
do not apply unless and until the stay is vacated and conviction is entered.* * * 

 
Note: The modifications in the first paragraph of section 2.D.1, below, are intended to 
clarify the general departure language and are unrelated to stays of adjudication. 
 

 
Section 2.D. Departures from the Guidelines 

 

1. Departures in General.  The sentences ranges provided in the Grids are 

presumed to be appropriate for the crimes to which they apply. The court 

must pronounce a sentence of the applicable disposition and within the 

applicable range unless there exist identifiable, substantial, and compelling 

circumstances to support a departuresentence outside the appropriate 

range on the applicable Grid. 

* * * 

e. Revoked Stay of Adjudication. When a felony stay of adjudication is 
vacated and conviction is entered, the Guidelines must be applied.  To 
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the extent that the sentence pronounced immediately following a 
revocation of a stay of adjudication is contrary to the Guidelines 
presumptive sentence, that sentence is a departure.* * * 

 
 
2.D.106.  The Guidelines do not apply to a stay of adjudication because it is not a 
conviction (see Section 1.A and Comment 2.C.10). If the initial sentence following 
felony conviction is commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections, and the 
Guidelines disposition is a presumptive stayed disposition, it is contrary to the 
Guidelines presumption. Accordingly, the sentence is an aggravated dispositional 
departure from the Guidelines, and “revocation of a stay of adjudication” will be 
noted as the reason for departure, unless the court offers another explanation. 
 
* * * 
 
 

3. Classify Sentence Executed Pursuant to Offender’s Right to Demand for 
Execution As Not a Dispositional Departure 
  
Description: An offender generally has the right to demand execution of sentence.  
 
Commission Proposal: Amend the Guidelines making it explicit that a sentence that 
is executed pursuant to an offender’s right to demand execution is not an aggravated 
dispositional departure, as follows: 
 
Section 2.D. Departures from the Guidelines 

1. Departures in General.* * * 
 

f. Offender’s Demand for Execution. A sentence that is executed pursuant 
to an offender’s right to demand execution is not an aggravated 
dispositional departure. * * * 

 
2.D.107.  An offender generally has the right to demand execution of sentence. 
State v. Rasinski, 472 N.W.2d 645, 651 (Minn. 1991); see also Minn. Stat. 
§ 609.135, subd. 7. The Commission does not regard the execution of a 
presumptively stayed sentence as a departure from the Guidelines if the record, 
or the Court’s communication to the Commission, reflects that the sentence was 
executed upon the offender's peremptory demand.* * * 
 
3.A.202.  While the Commission has resolved not to develop guidelines for 
nonimprisonment sanctions at this time, the Commission believes it is important 

August 1, 2015 MSGC Proposed Amendments to the Guidelines      Page 15 
  
 
 



for the sentencing courts to consider proportionality when pronouncing a period 
of local confinement as a condition of probation. This is particularly important 
given Minn. Stat. § 609.135, subd. 7, which states that when an offender may not 
demand execution of sentence. The period of local confinement should be 
proportional to the severity of the conviction offense and the criminal history 
score of the offender. Therefore, the period of local confinement should not 
exceed the term of imprisonment that would be served if the offender were to 
have received an executed prison sentence according to the presumptive 
Guidelines duration. * * * 
 
 

4. List Particular Amenability to Probation as Mitigating Factor 
  
Description: The Minnesota Supreme Court emphasized that mere amenability to 
probation does not justify a departure, but that a defendant must be particularly 
amenable to probation. State v. Soto, 855 N.W.2d 303 (Minn. 2014).  
 
Commission Proposal: Add to section 2.D.3 regarding mitigating factors that may be 
used as reasons for departure, as follows. 

 

Section 2.D. Departures from the Guidelines 

3. Factors that may be used as Reasons for Departure.  The following is a 

nonexclusive list of factors that may be used as reasons for departure: 

a. Mitigating Factors. * * * 

 

(7) The offender is particularly amenable to probation. This factor may, 

but need not, be supported by the fact that the offender is particularly 

amenable to a relevant program of individualized treatment in a 

probationary setting.* * * 

2.D.303.  The requirement that a defendant be “particularly” amenable to 
probation ensures that the defendant's amenability to probation distinguishes 
the defendant from most others and truly presents the substantial and 
compelling circumstances necessary to justify a departure. State v. Soto, 855 
N.W.2d 303, 309 (Minn. 2014).  While social or economic factors cannot justify a 
departure, such facts may be relevant to determining whether a defendant is 
particularly amenable to probation.  Id at 312.  In determining whether a 
defendant is particularly suitable to individualized treatment in a probationary 
setting, for example, a court is permitted to consider the defendant’s age, prior 
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record, remorse, cooperation, attitude before the court, and social support.  State 
v. Trog, 323 N.W.2d 28, 31 (Minn. 1982). * * * 

 

2.D.303304.  * * * 

2.D.304305.  * * * 

2.D.305306.  * * * 

2.D.306307.* * * 

 
 

D. Technical Amendments  
 

The following are proposed technical amendments.    
 
1. Update Offense Titles for Criminal Damage to Property 
 

Description: Absent a risk of bodily harm, felony criminal damage to property in the 
first degree is ranked at Severity Level 2. Criminal damage to property in the second 
degree involves the intentional causes to damage because of the property owner's or 
another's actual or perceived race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, disability. 
Because the descriptive titles in section 5 are incomplete, they may cause confusion. 
 
Commission Proposal: Update offense titles for damage to property in section 5, as 
follows. 

 
 

Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 
* * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

2 
Damage to Property (Over 
$500/Service to Public, Over $1,000, 
Over $500 and Subsequent) 

 
609.595, subd. 1(2), 
(3), & (4) 

 
 

Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 
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Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.595 subd. 
1(2)(3)(4) 

Damage to Property (Over $500/Service 
to Public, Over $1,000, Over $500 and 
Subsequent) 

2 

 
* * * 
 
 

2. Delete Expired Statutory Language Related to Expunged Records 
 

Description: A portion of a comment in section 2.B related to access to expunged 
records is no longer in effect.  
 
Commission Proposal: Delete the reference to expired statutory language, as 
follows. 
 
Section 2.B. Criminal History 
 
* * * 

 
2.B.03. Effective before January 1, 2015, Minn. Stat. § 609A.03, subd. 7(b) applies 
to expungement orders subject to its limitations, and provides that:  
Notwithstanding the issuance of an expungement order:  
(1) an expunged record may be opened for purposes of a criminal investigation, 
prosecution, or sentencing, upon an ex parte court order;  
. . . 
Upon request by law enforcement, prosecution, or corrections authorities, an 
agency or jurisdiction subject to an expungement order shall inform the 
requester of the existence of a sealed record and of the right to obtain access to 
it as provided by this paragraph....  
 
Effective January 1, 2015, Minn. Stat. § 609A.03, subd. 7a(b), provides, in part that:  
 
Notwithstanding the issuance of an expungement order:  
(1) except as provided in clause (2), an expunged record may be opened, used, or 
exchanged between criminal justice agencies without a court order for the 
purposes of initiating, furthering, or completing a criminal investigation or 
prosecution or for sentencing purposes or providing probation or other 
correction services; 
(2) when a criminal justice agency seeks access to a record that was sealed under 
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section 609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1), after an acquittal or a 
court order dismissing for lack of probable cause, for purposes of a criminal 
investigation, prosecution, or sentencing, the requesting agency must obtain an 
ex parte court order after stating a good-faith basis to believe that opening the 
record may lead to relevant information ; … .  
 
* * * 
 

August 1, 2015 MSGC Proposed Amendments to the Guidelines      Page 19 
  
 
 


	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	Appendix 3. Presumptive Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutory Maximum Sentence Reference Table
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	Section 2.C. Presumptive Sentence
	* * *
	2.C.10.  Because a stay of adjudication is not a felony conviction, the Guidelines do not apply unless and until the stay is vacated and conviction is entered.* * *
	Section 2.D. Departures from the Guidelines
	1. Departures in General.  The sentences ranges provided in the Grids are presumed to be appropriate for the crimes to which they apply. The court must pronounce a sentence of the applicable disposition and within the applicable range unless there exi...

	* * *
	e. Revoked Stay of Adjudication. When a felony stay of adjudication is vacated and conviction is entered, the Guidelines must be applied.  To the extent that the sentence pronounced immediately following a revocation of a stay of adjudication is contr...
	2.D.106.  The Guidelines do not apply to a stay of adjudication because it is not a conviction (see Section 1.A and Comment 2.C.10). If the initial sentence following felony conviction is commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections, and the Guidelin...
	* * *
	Section 2.D. Departures from the Guidelines
	1. Departures in General.* * *
	f. Offender’s Demand for Execution. A sentence that is executed pursuant to an offender’s right to demand execution is not an aggravated dispositional departure. * * *
	2.D.107.  An offender generally has the right to demand execution of sentence. State v. Rasinski, 472 N.W.2d 645, 651 (Minn. 1991); see also Minn. Stat. § 609.135, subd. 7. The Commission does not regard the execution of a presumptively stayed sentenc...
	Section 2.D. Departures from the Guidelines
	3. Factors that may be used as Reasons for Departure.  The following is a nonexclusive list of factors that may be used as reasons for departure:
	a. Mitigating Factors. * * *
	(7) The offender is particularly amenable to probation. This factor may, but need not, be supported by the fact that the offender is particularly amenable to a relevant program of individualized treatment in a probationary setting.* * *


	* * *
	* * *
	* * *
	* * *

