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Minnesota	Sentencing	Guidelines	Commission	
	

Possible	Modifications	to	the	Sentencing	Guidelines	–		
Legislative	Actions	

	
	
The	following	legislative	actions	need	to	be	reviewed	and	considered	by	the	Commission	as	
possible	modifications	to	the	Sentencing	Guidelines.			
	
A. Amended	 Offenses.	 	 The	 following	 existing	 offenses	 are	 amended	 by	 the	 2013	

Legislature.		In	some	cases,	the	amendments	expand	definitional	statements;	in	others,	
the	amendments	expand	the	scope	of	the	offense.			

	
Commission	 Action:	 	 For	 each	 offense	 listed	 below,	 taking	 the	 amendment	 into	
consideration,	should	the	offense	be	re‐ranked?	

	
1. Aggregation	of	Financial	Exploitation	of	Vulnerable	Adults	–		

Minn.	Stat.	§	609.2335	
	
Description:	 	 Subdivision	 4	 is	 added	 to	 the	 law	 for	 financial	 exploitation	 of	
vulnerable	 adult	 statute	 (Minn.	 Stat.	 §	 609.2335).	 	 The	 subdivision	 allows	 for	
aggregating	 the	 value	 of	 the	 money	 or	 property	 or	 services	 received	 by	 the	
defendant	within	a	six‐month	period.	 	The	defendant	 is	 then	charged	according	 to	
the	criminal	penalties	in	subdivision	3.	
		
	
Effective	Date:		August	1,	2013	
	

Reference:		Chapter	5	‐	H.F.	90;		
2013	Minn.	Stat.	§	609.2335	

Est.	Bed	Impact:		Minimal	impact	on	
state	and	local	correctional	resources.	
	

Racial	Disparity	Impact:		None	
expected.	

		
Guidelines	 Considerations:	 	 Current	 law	 provides	 that	 a	 person	 who	 commits	
financial	 exploitation	 of	 a	 vulnerable	 adult	 as	 defined	 in	 Minn.	 Stat.	 §	 609.2335,	
subdivision	1,	 clause	 (1)	or	 (2)	 item	(i),	may	be	 sentenced	under	 the	 theft	 statute	
(Minn.	Stat.	§	609.52,	subd.	3).	 	The	theft	statute	provides	that	monetary	values	of	
over	 $1,000	 are	 felonies.	 	 The	 Commission	 ranks	 financial	 exploitation	 of	 a	
vulnerable	adult	over	$1,000	at	Severity	Level	4;	more	than	$5,000	at	Severity	Level	
5;	and	more	than	$35,000	at	Severity	Level	7.	
	
The	 amendment	 to	 the	 law	 allowing	 aggregation	 of	 offenses	 within	 a	 six‐month	
period	may	 result	 in	 an	 increase	 in	 the	 number	 of	 people	 who	 are	 charged	with	
felony‐level	offenses	and	who	receive	felony	sentences.	 	This	may	also	result	 in	an	
increase	 in	 the	number	of	 felony	offenses	sentenced	at	higher	severity	 levels.	 	For	
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example,	without	aggregation,	two	separate	incidents	of	theft	occurring	on	different	
dates,	each	with	a	monetary	value	of	$3,000,	would	each	be	ranked	at	Severity	Level	
4;	however,	under	aggregation	the	monetary	values	 for	 the	two	offenses	would	be	
combined	for	a	monetary	value	of	$6,000,	which	is	ranked	at	Severity	Level	5.		
			
MSGC	Staff	Recommendation:		Maintain	the	current	Severity	Level	rankings	in	
Minn.	Sentencing	Guidelines	§	5:	
	

Statute	
Number	 Offense	Title	

Severity	
Level	

609.2335	 Financial	Exploitation	of	Vulnerable	Adult								
(Over	$35,000)	

7	

609.2335	 Financial	Exploitation	of	Vulnerable	Adult								
(Over	$5,000)	

5	

609.2335	 Financial	Exploitation	of	Vulnerable	Adult					
($5,000	or	Less)	

4	

	
	
Link	to	MN	Revisor	of	Statutes	(Relevant	Text	Below):		2013	Minn.	Laws	Ch.	5.	
 
				Section	1.	Minnesota	Statutes	2012,	section	609.2335,	is	amended	by	adding	a		
subdivision	to	read:	
				Subd.	4.	Aggregation.	In	any	prosecution	under	this	section,	the	value	of	the		
money	or	property	or	services	received	by	the	defendant	within	any	six‐month	period		
may	be	aggregated	and	the	defendant	charged	accordingly	in	applying	the	provisions	of		
subdivision	3;	provided	that	when	two	or	more	offenses	are	committed	by	the	same	person		
in	two	or	more	counties,	the	accused	may	be	prosecuted	in	any	county	in	which	one	of	the		
offenses	was	committed	for	all	of	the	offenses	aggregated	under	this	subdivision.	
EFFECTIVE	DATE.	This	section	is	effective	August	1,	2013,	and	applies	to	crimes		
committed	on	or	after	that	date.	
	
				Sec.	2.	Minnesota	Statutes	2012,	section	609.2335,	is	amended	by	adding	a	subdivision		
to	read:	
				Subd.	5.	Venue.	Notwithstanding	anything	to	the	contrary	in	section	627.01,	an		
offense	committed	under	this	section	may	be	prosecuted	in:	(1)	the	county	where	any	part		
of	the	offense	occurred;	or	(2)	the	county	of	residence	of	the	victim	or	one	of	the	victims.	
EFFECTIVE	DATE.	This	section	is	effective	August	1,	2013.	
Presented	to	the	governor	March	12,	2013	
Signed	by	the	governor	March	14,	2013,	2:14	p.m.	
From	Revisor	of	Statutes,	State	of	Minnesota	on	May	6,	2013	at	
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=5&year=2013&type=0.	
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B. New	Offenses.		The	following	new	offenses	are	enacted	by	the	Legislature	during	the	

2013	legislative	session.	
	

Commission	Action:		One	of	the	responsibilities	of	the	Commission	is	to	assign	severity	
level	rankings	to	new	crimes	and	to	consider	whether	they	should	be	added	to	the	list	in	
§	6	of	offenses	eligible	for	permissive	consecutive	sentences.		The	Commission	bases	its	
decisions,	in	part,	on	the	level	of	harm	caused	by	the	offense	and	the	culpability	of	the	
offender.		Statutory	maximums	are	also	considered.			
	
Question	1:		What	severity	level	should	be	assigned	to	these	new	offenses?			
Question	2:		Should	the	offense	be	eligible	for	permissive	consecutive	sentencing?	

	
	
1. Emergency	Telephone	Calls	and	Communications	(Minn.	Stat.	§	609.78)	
	

Description:		New	offenses	are	added	to	the	law	for	emergency	telephone	calls	and	
communications.			
	
A	 new	misdemeanor	 offense	 is	 established	 in	 subd.	 1	 (6),	 if	 a	 person	 “makes	 or	
initiates	an	emergency	call,	knowing	that	no	emergency	exists,	and	with	the	intent	to	
disrupt,	 interfere	 with,	 or	 reduce	 the	 provision	 of	 emergency	 services	 or	 the	
emergency	 call	 center’s	 resources,	 remains	 silent,	 or	 makes	 abusive	 or	 harassing	
statements	 to	 the	 call	 recipient.”	 	 The	 first	 conviction	 or	 adjudication	 is	 a	
misdemeanor;	 the	 second	 is	 a	 gross	misdemeanor	under	 subd.	 2	 (3);	 the	 third	 or	
subsequent	is	a	felony	with	a	5‐year	statutory	maximum	under	subd.	2b	(1).			
	
A	new	felony	is	added	with	a	5‐year	statutory	maximum	in	subd.	2b	(2),	if	a	person	
“intentionally	 uses	multiple	 communication	 devices	 or	 electronic	means	 to	 block,	
interfere	with,	 overload,	 or	 otherwise	 prevent	 the	 emergency	 call	 center’s	 system	
from	 functioning	 properly,	 and	 these	 actions	 make	 the	 system	 unavailable	 to	
someone	needing	emergency	assistance.”			
	
A	new	gross	misdemeanor	offense	 is	 created	 in	 subd.	2	 (2)	 if	 a	person	 “places	 an	
emergency	call	and	reports	a	 fictitious	emergency	with	the	 intent	of	prompting	an	
emergency	 response...”	 	 Under	 subd.	 2a,	 it	 is	 a	 felony	 with	 a	 10‐year	 statutory	
maximum	 if	 a	person	commits	 the	offense	 in	 subd.	2	 (2),	 and	 “the	call	 triggers	an	
emergency	response	and,	as	a	result	of	the	response,	someone	suffers	great	bodily	
harm	or	death.”			
	
Effective	Date:		August	1,	2013 References:		Chapter	20	‐	S.F.	1168;		

2012	Minn.	Stat.		§	609.78	
Est.	Bed	Impact:		Minimal	impact	on	state	
and	local	correctional	resources.	

Racial	Disparity	Impact:		No	impact	
expected.	
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Guidelines	Considerations:			
	

 Consider	 when	 ranking	 offenses	 with	 5‐year	 Statutory	 Maximums	 –
Misdemeanor‐level	 assault	 offenses	 and	 violation	 of	 restraining	 order	 are	
elevated	 to	 felony‐level	 for	 third	 and	 subsequent	 offenses.	 	 Those	 felonies	
have	 five‐year	 statutory	 maximums	 and	 are	 ranked	 at	 Severity	 Level	 4.		
Interference	with	emergency	communications	under	Minn.	Stat.	§	609.776,	is	
an	existing	felony	offense	with	a	3‐year	statutory	maximum.	 	It	 is	ranked	at	
Severity	Level	5.	

	
 Consider	 when	 ranking	 offense	 with	 10‐year	 Statutory	 Maximum	

resulting	 in	 serious	 injury	 or	 death	 –	 Second‐degree	 manslaughter	
through	 culpable	 negligence,	 Minn.	 Stat.	 §	 609.205	 (1),	 has	 a	 10‐year	
statutory	maximum	 and	 is	 ranked	 at	 Severity	 Level	 8.	 	Manslaughter	 is	 an	
offense	 eligible	 for	 permissive	 consecutive	 sentencing	 in	 Minn.	 Sentencing	
Guidelines	 §	 6.	 	 Second‐degree	 manslaughter	 under	 this	 clause	 involves	
“culpable	negligence	whereby	the	person	creates	an	unreasonable	risk,	and	
consciously	 takes	 chances	 of	 causing	 death	 or	 great	 bodily	 harm	 to	
another;…”	

	
MSGC	Staff	Recommendations:		Outlined	in	the	table	below	are	possible	Severity	
Level	rankings	for	the	new	offenses	based	on	existing	offenses	with	similar	levels	of	
harm	and	similar	statutory	maximums.		The	Commission	must	also	decide	if	these	
offenses	should	be	added	to	the	list	of	eligible	offenses	for	permissive	consecutive	
sentencing	in	Minn.	Sentencing	Guidelines	§	6:	
	
	

Statute	
Number	 Offense	Title	

Statutory	
Maximum	

Severity	
Level	

Add	to	
Permissive	
Consecutive	

List?	

609.78,	subd.	
2b(1)	

Emergency	telephone	calls	
and	communications;	Making	
calls	when	no	emergency	
exists	with	intent	to	disrupt	
(third	or	subsequent)	

5	years	 4	or	5	 	

609.78,	subd.	
2b(2)	

Emergency	telephone	calls	
and	communications;	blocks,	
interferes,	prevents	using	
multiple	communication	
devices	or	electronic	means	

5	years	 5	 	
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Statute	
Number	 Offense	Title	

Statutory	
Maximum	

Severity	
Level	

Add	to	
Permissive	
Consecutive	

List?	

609.78,	subd.	2a	 Emergency	telephone	calls	
and	communications;	
reporting	fictitious	
emergency	resulting	in	
serious	injury	

10	years	 8	 	

	
	
Link	to	MN	Revisor	of	Statutes	(Relevant	Text	Below):		2013	Minn.	Laws	Ch.	20.	
	
				Section	1.	Minnesota	Statutes	2012,	section	609.78,	is	amended	to	read:	
609.78	EMERGENCY	TELEPHONE	CALLS	AND	COMMUNICATIONS.	
				Subdivision	1.	Misdemeanor	offenses.	Whoever	does	the	following	is	guilty	of	a		
misdemeanor:	
(1)	refuses	to	relinquish	immediately	a	coin‐operated	telephone	or	a	telephone		
line	consisting	of	two	or	more	stations	when	informed	that	the	line	is	needed	to	make		
an	emergency	call;	
(2)	secures	a	relinquishment	of	a	coin‐operated	telephone	or	a	telephone	line		
consisting	of	two	or	more	stations	by	falsely	stating	that	the	line	is	needed	for	an	
emergency;	
(3)	publishes	telephone	directories	to	be	used	for	telephones	or	telephone	lines	and		
the	directories	do	not	contain	a	copy	of	this	section;	
(4)	makes	a	call	for	emergency	police,	fire,	medical,	or	ambulance	service,	knowing		
that	no	police,	fire,	or	medical	emergency	exists;	or	
(5)	interrupts,	disrupts,	impedes,	or	otherwise	interferes	with	the	transmission	of	a		
citizen's	band	radio	channel	communication	the	purpose	of	which	is	to	inform	or	inquire		
about	a	medical	emergency	or	an	emergency	in	which	property	is	or	is	reasonably	believed		
to	be	in	imminent	danger	of	damage	or	destruction.;	or	
(6)	makes	or	initiates	an	emergency	call,	knowing	that	no	emergency	exists,	and		
with	the	intent	to	disrupt,	interfere	with,	or	reduce	the	provision	of	emergency	services		
or	the	emergency	call	center's	resources,	remains	silent,	or	makes	abusive	or	harassing		
statements	to	the	call	recipient.	
				Subd.	2.	Interference	with	emergency	call;	Gross	misdemeanor	offense	offenses.	
A	person	who	Whoever	does	the	following	is	guilty	of	a	gross	misdemeanor:	
(1)	intentionally	interrupts,	disrupts,	impedes,	or	interferes	with	an	emergency	call	or		
who	intentionally	prevents	or	hinders	another	from	placing	an	emergency	call,	and	whose		
conduct	does	not	result	in	a	violation	of	section	609.498,	is	guilty	of	a	gross	misdemeanor		
and	may	be	sentenced	to	imprisonment	for	not	more	than	one	year	or	to	payment	of	a	fine		
of	not	more	than	$3,000,	or	both.;	
(2)	places	an	emergency	call	and	reports	a	fictitious	emergency	with	the	intent		
of	prompting	an	emergency	response	by	law	enforcement,	fire,	or	emergency	medical		
services	personnel;	or	
(3)	violates	subdivision	1,	clause	(6),	after	having	been	previously	convicted	or		
adjudicated	delinquent	for	violating	that	clause.	
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				Subd.	2a.	Felony	offense;	reporting	fictitious	emergency	resulting	in	serious		
injury.	Whoever	violates	subdivision	2,	clause	(2),	is	guilty	of	a	felony	and	may	be		
sentenced	to	imprisonment	for	not	more	than	ten	years	or	to	payment	of	a	fine	of	not	more		
than	$20,000,	or	both,	if	the	call	triggers	an	emergency	response	and,	as	a	result	of	the		
response,	someone	suffers	great	bodily	harm	or	death.	
				Subd.	2b.	Other	felony	offenses.	Whoever	does	the	following	is	guilty	of	a	felony		
and	may	be	sentenced	to	imprisonment	for	not	more	than	five	years	or	to	payment	of		
a	fine	of	not	more	than	$10,000,	or	both:	
(1)	violates	subdivision	1,	clause	(6),	after	having	been	previously	convicted	or		
adjudicated	delinquent	for	violating	that	clause	on	more	than	one	occasion;	or	
(2)	intentionally	uses	multiple	communications	devices	or	electronic	means	to	block,		
interfere	with,	overload,	or	otherwise	prevent	the	emergency	call	center's	system	from		
functioning	properly,	and	these	actions	make	the	system	unavailable	to	someone	needing		
emergency	assistance.	
				Subd.	3.	Definition.	(a)	Except	as	provided	in	paragraph	(b),	for	purposes	of	this		
section,	"emergency	call"	means:	
(1)	a	911	call;	
(2)	any	call	for	emergency	medical	or	ambulance	service;	or	
(3)	any	call	for	assistance	from	a	police	or	fire	department	or	for	other	assistance		
needed	in	an	emergency	to	avoid	serious	harm	to	person	or	property,	
and	an	emergency	exists.	
(b)	As	used	in	subdivisions	1,	clause	(6);	2,	clause	(2);	and	2a:	
(1)	"call"	includes	the	use	of	any	method	of	communication	including,	but	not		
limited	to:	telephones,	facsimiles,	voice‐over‐Internet	protocols,	e‐mail	messages,	text		
messages,	and	electronic	transmissions	of	an	image	or	video;	and	
(2)	"emergency	call"	has	the	meaning	given	in	paragraph	(a)	but	does	not	require		
the	existence	of	an	emergency.	
EFFECTIVE	DATE.	This	section	is	effective	August	1,	2013,	and	applies	to	crimes		
committed	on	or	after	that	date.	
Presented	to	the	governor	April	22,	2013.	
Signed	by	the	governor	April	24,	2013,	10:52	a.m.	
From	Revisor	of	Statutes,	State	of	Minnesota	on	May	6,	2013	at	
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=20&year=2013&type=0.	
	
	

2. Wildfire	Arson	(Minn.	Stat.	§	609.5641)	
	

Description:		Wildfire	arson	is	defined	as	intentionally	setting	a	fire	to	burn	out	of	
control	on	land	of	another	containing	timber,	underbrush,	grass,	or	other	vegetative	
combustible	material.	 	 It	 is	 amended	 to	 add	new	offenses	 for	which	 the	 statutory	
maximums	are	based	on	the	number	of	buildings,	acres,	or	size	of	crop	loss	that	are	
damaged	or	threatened	with	damage.			
	

 The	statutory	maximum	is	ten	years	when	the	fire	damages	or	threatened	to	
damage	 in	 excess	 of	 five	 dwellings,	 burns	 500	 or	 more	 acres	 or	 damages	
crops	in	excess	of	$100,000.			
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 The	statutory	maximum	is	20	years	when	the	fire	damages	or	threatened	to	
damage	 in	excess	of	100	dwellings,	 burns	1,500	or	more	acres	or	damages	
crops	in	excess	of	$250,000.			
	

 Additionally,	a	clause	 is	added	for	 intentionally	setting	a	 fire	where	the	 fire	
causes	 another	 person	 to	 suffer	 demonstrable	 bodily	 harm.	 	 The	 statutory	
maximum	is	ten	years.	

			
Effective	Date:		August	1,	2013 References:		Chapter	139	‐	H.F.	228;		

2012	Minn.	Stat.		§	609.5641	
Est.	Bed	Impact:		Minimal	impact	on	state	
and	local	correctional	resources.	

Racial	Disparity	Impact:		No	impact	
expected.	

	
	
Guidelines	Considerations:		Current	law	provides	that	the	statutory	maximum	for	
wildfire	 arson	 is	 five	 years.	 	 The	 Commission	 currently	 ranks	 wildfire	 arson	 at	
Severity	Level	2.	
	

 Consider	when	ranking	20‐year	Statutory	Maximum	–	First‐degree	arson	
is	 defined	 under	 Minn.	 Stat.	 §	 609.561	 as	 intentionally	 destroying	 or	
damaging	a	dwelling	or	other	building.		The	statutory	maximum	is	20	years.		
The	Commission	ranks	first‐degree	arson	at	Severity	Level	8.			It	is	on	the	list	
of	offenses	eligible	for	permissive	consecutive	sentencing.	

	
 Consider	 when	 ranking	 10‐year	 Statutory	 Maximum	 –	 Second‐degree	

arson	 is	 defined	under	Minn.	 Stat.	 §	 609.562	as	 intentionally	destroying	or	
damaging	 any	 building	 not	 covered	 in	 first‐degree	 arson.	 	 The	 statutory	
maximum	 is	 10	 years.	 	 The	 Commission	 ranks	 second‐degree	 arson	 at	
Severity	 Level	 5.	 	 It	 is	 not	 on	 the	 list	 of	 offenses	 eligible	 for	 permissive	
consecutive	sentencing.	

	
 Consider	when	ranking	10‐year	Statutory	Maximum	with	Demonstrable	

Bodily	Harm	–	In	current	law,	felony	demonstrable	bodily	harm	offenses	are	
limited	to:		
1. Assault	 in	 the	 fourth	 degree	 under	 Minn.	 Stat.	 §	 609.2231	 of	 peace	

officers,	 firefighters,	 DNR	 employees,	 correctional	 employees,	 secure	
treatment	 personnel,	 and	 probation	 officers	 performing	 duties.	 	 The	
statutory	maximum	 is	 two	years.	 	The	Commission	 ranks	 the	offense	at	
Severity	Level	1.	

2. False	imprisonment;	unreasonable	restraint	of	children	under	Minn.	Stat.	
§	 609.255,	 subd.	 3.	 	 The	 statutory	 maximum	 is	 two	 years.	 	 The	
Commission	ranks	the	offense	at	Severity	Level	3.	
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MSGC	Staff	Recommendations:		Maintain	the	Severity	Level	2	ranking	for	wildfire	
arson	under	the	recodified	subd.	1a(a),	because	it	meets	the	current	definition	of	the	
offense	and	the	statutory	maximum	does	not	change.			
	
Outlined	in	the	table	below	are	possible	Severity	Level	rankings	for	the	new	offenses	
based	 on	 existing	 offenses	 with	 similar	 levels	 of	 harm	 and	 similar	 statutory	
maximums.		The	Commission	must	also	decide	if	these	offenses	should	be	added	to	
the	 list	 of	 eligible	 offenses	 for	 permissive	 consecutive	 sentencing	 in	 Minn.	
Sentencing	Guidelines	§	6:	
	

Statute	
Number	 Offense	Title	

Statutory	
Maximum	

Severity	
Level	

Add	to	
Permissive	
Consecutive	

List?	

609.5641	
subd.	1a(a)	

Wildfire	Arson	 5	years	 2	 	

609.5641	
subd.	1a(b)	

Wildfire	Arson	(Damage	over		5	
dwellings,	burns	500	acres	or	
more,	or	crops	in	excess	of	
$100,000)	

10	years	 5	 	

609.5641	
subd.	1a(c)	

Wildfire	Arson	(Damage	over	
100	dwellings,	burns	1,500	
acres	or	more,	or	crops	in	
excess	of	$250,000)	

20	years	 8	 	

609.5641	
subd.	1a(d)	

Wildfire	Arson	(Demonstrable	
Bodily	Harm)	

10	years	 5	 	

	
	
Link	to	MN	Revisor	of	Statutes	(Relevant	Text	Below):		2013	Minn.	Laws	Ch.	139.	

	
				Section	1.	Minnesota	Statutes	2012,	section	609.5641,	subdivision	1,	is	amended	to	read:	
				Subdivision	1.	Setting	wildfires.	A	person	is	guilty	of	a	felony	who	intentionally		
sets	a	fire	to	burn	out	of	control	on	land	of	another	containing	timber,	underbrush,	grass,		
or	other	vegetative	combustible	material	is	guilty	of	a	felony	and	may	be	sentenced	as		
provided	in	subdivision	1a.	
EFFECTIVE	DATE.	This	section	is	effective	August	1,	2013,	and	applies	to	crimes		
committed	on	or	after	that	date.	
	
				Sec.	2.	Minnesota	Statutes	2012,	section	609.5641,	is	amended	by	adding	a	subdivision		
to	read:	
				Subd.	1a.	Penalty;	felonies.	(a)	Except	as	provided	in	paragraphs	(b),	(c),	and	(d),	a		
person	who	violates	subdivision	1	may	be	sentenced	to	imprisonment	for	not	more	than		
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five	years	or	to	payment	of	a	fine	of	not	more	than	$10,000,	or	both.	
(b)	A	person	who	violates	subdivision	1	where	the	fire	threatens	to	damage	or		
damages	in	excess	of	five	buildings	or	dwellings,	burns	500	acres	or	more,	or	damages		
crops	in	excess	of	$100,000,	may	be	sentenced	to	imprisonment	for	not	more	than	ten		
years	or	to	payment	of	a	fine	of	not	more	than	$15,000,	or	both.	
(c)	A	person	who	violates	subdivision	1	where	the	fire	threatens	to	damage	or		
damages	in	excess	of	100	buildings	or	dwellings,	burns	1,500	acres	or	more,	or	damages		
crops	in	excess	of	$250,000,	may	be	sentenced	to	imprisonment	for	not	more	than	20	years		
or	to	payment	of	a	fine	of	not	more	than	$25,000,	or	both.	
(d)	A	person	who	violates	subdivision	1	where	the	fire	causes	another	person	to		
suffer	demonstrable	bodily	harm	may	be	sentenced	to	imprisonment	for	not	more	than	ten		
years	or	to	payment	of	a	fine	of	$15,000,	or	both.	
(e)	For	purposes	of	this	section,	a	building	or	dwelling	is	threatened	when	there	is	a		
probability	of	damage	to	the	building	or	dwelling	requiring	evacuation	for	safety	of	life.	
EFFECTIVE	DATE.	This	section	is	effective	August	1,	2013,	and	applies	to	crimes		
committed	on	or	after	that	date.	
	
				Sec.	3.	Minnesota	Statutes	2012,	section	609.5641,	subdivision	3,	is	amended	to	read:	
				Subd.	3.	Penalty;	Restitution.	(a)	A	person	who	violates	subdivision	1	may	be		
sentenced	to	imprisonment	for	not	more	than	five	years	or	to	payment	of	a	fine	of	not		
more	than	$10,000,	or	both.	
(b)	A	person	who	violates	subdivision	2	may	be	sentenced	to	imprisonment	for	not		
more	than	one	year	or	to	payment	of	a	fine	of	not	more	than	$3,000,	or	both.	
(c)	In	addition	to	the	sentence	otherwise	authorized,	the	court	may	order	a	person		
who	is	convicted	of	violating	this	section	to	pay	fire	suppression	costs	and,	damages	to		
the	owner	of	the	damaged	land,	costs	associated	with	injuries	sustained	by	a	member	of	a		
municipal	or	volunteer	fire	department	in	the	performance	of	the	member's	duties,	and		
any	other	restitution	costs	allowed	under	section	611A.04.	
EFFECTIVE	DATE.	This	section	is	effective	August	1,	2013.	
Presented	to	the	governor	May	22,	2013.	
From	Revisor	of	Statutes,	State	of	Minnesota	on	May	24,	2013	at		
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=139&doctype=Chapter&year=2013&type=0.	
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C. Gross	Misdemeanors/Targeted	Misdemeanors.		Minn.	Sentencing	Guidelines	§	2.B.3	
provides	that	prior	non‐traffic	gross	misdemeanors	and	misdemeanors	on	the	targeted	
misdemeanor	 list	 defined	 in	 Minn.	 Stat.	 §	 299C.10,	 subd.	 1(e)	 count	 towards	 an	
offender’s	 criminal	 history	 score.	 	 Following	 is	 a	 list	 of	 new	 gross	 misdemeanors	
enacted	during	the	2013	Legislative	Session.		No	Commission	action	is	requested.		The	
offenses	have	been	 listed	 for	your	 information.	 	No	new	targeted	misdemeanors	were	
enacted	in	2013.	

	
1. Gross	Misdemeanor	Emergency	Telephone	Calls	and	Communications							

(Minn.	Stat.	§	609.78)	
	

As	 described	 in	 section	 B	 (above),	 a	 new	 misdemeanor	 offense	 is	 established	 in	
subd.	 1	 (6),	 if	 a	 person	 “makes	 or	 initiates	 an	 emergency	 call,	 knowing	 that	 no	
emergency	 exists,	 and	 with	 the	 intent	 to	 disrupt,	 interfere	 with,	 or	 reduce	 the	
provision	of	emergency	services	or	the	emergency	call	center’s	resources,	remains	
silent,	 or	makes	 abusive	 or	 harassing	 statements	 to	 the	 call	 recipient.”	 	 The	 first	
conviction	 or	 adjudication	 is	 a	misdemeanor;	 the	 second	 is	 a	 gross	misdemeanor	
under	 subd.	 2	 (3);	 the	 third	 or	 subsequent	 is	 a	 felony	 with	 a	 5‐year	 statutory	
maximum	under	subd.	2b	(1).	
	

Effective	Date:		August	1,	2013	
	

	 References:		Chapter	20	‐	S.F.	1168;	2012	Minn.	Stat.		§	609.78.	
	
2. Gross	Misdemeanor	Assault	in	the	Fourth	Degree	against	a	Transit	Operator		

(Minn.	Stat.	§	609.2231)	
	

A	 new	 gross	 misdemeanor	 is	 established	 for	 assaulting	 a	 transit	 operator,	 or	
intentionally	throwing	or	transferring	bodily	fluids	onto	a	transit	operator.			
	
Effective	Date:		August	1,	2013	
	

	 References:	Chapter	133	‐	H.F.	590;	2012	Minn.	Stat.		§	609.2231.	
	

3. Gross	Misdemeanor	Violation	by	Body	Art	Technician																																														
(Minn.	Stat.	§	146B.03,	subd.	11)	

	
A	gross	misdemeanor	penalty	provision	is	added	for	performing	tattooing	or	body	
piercing	without	a	license.			
	
Effective	Date:		August	1,	2013	
	

	 References:	Chapter	43,	Sec.	26	‐	S.F.	887;	2012	Minn.	Stat.		§	146B.03.
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Other	Legislative	Action	
	

The	2013	Legislature	reinstated	a	presumptive	executed	sentence	for	repeat	sex	offenders.		
The	Commission	must	decide	if	it	wishes	to	specifically	address	it	in	the	Guidelines.	

	
1. Presumptive	Executed	Sentences	for	Repeat	Sex	Offenders	
	

Description:	 Minn.	 Stat.	 §	 609.3455,	 was	 amended	 to	 provide	 for	 presumptive	
executed	 prison	 sentences	 of	 at	 least	 36	 months	 for	 offenders	 sentenced	 for	 first‐	
through	fourth‐degree	criminal	sexual	conduct	offenses	under	Minn.	Stat.	§§	609.342	to	
345,	 and	 criminal	 sexual	 predatory	 conduct	 under	 Minn.	 Stat.	 §	 609.3453,	 if	 the	
offender	has	a	previous	 sex	offense	 conviction.	 	 	The	 court	may	 stay	execution	of	 the	
presumptive	sentence	if	 it	 finds	that	the	offender	 is	accepted	by	and	can	respond	to	a	
long‐term	inpatient	treatment	program	for	sex	offenders.		If	the	sentence	is	stayed,	the	
court	 must	 include	 as	 conditions	 of	 probation	 some	 term	 of	 incarceration	 in	 a	 local	
facility	 and	 a	 requirement	 that	 the	 offender	 successfully	 complete	 the	 treatment	
program	and	aftercare.	

	
Effective	Date:		August	1,	2013 References:	 	Chapter	86,	Art	3,	 Sec.	10	 ‐	

S.F.	671;	2012	Minn.	Stat.		§	609.3455	
Est.	Bed	Impact:		5	prison	beds	per	year. Racial	Disparity	Impact:		No	impact	

expected.	
	
	

Guidelines	 Considerations:	 	 Currently,	 Minn.	 Sentencing	 Guidelines	 §	 2.C.3.a,	
addresses	how	to	find	the	presumptive	sentence	for	sex	offenders	who	qualify	 for	 life	
sentences	under	Minn.	Stat.	§	609.3455.		

	
MSGC	 Staff	 Recommendations:	 	 Modify	 Minn.	 Sentencing	 Guidelines	 §	 2.C.3.a,	 to	
address	 presumptive	 executed	 prison	 sentences	 of	 at	 least	 36	months	 for	 repeat	 sex	
offenders,	as	outlined	below:	
	
	

3. Finding	the	Presumptive	Sentence	for	Certain	Offenses.	

a. Sex	Offenses.		Under	Minn.	Stat.	§	609.3455,	certain	sex	offenders	are	

subject	to	mandatory	life	sentences	and	certain	repeat	sex	offenders	are	

subject	to	presumptive	executed	prison	sentences	of	at	least	36	months.		

(1) Mandatory	Life	Sentence.	The	Sentencing	Guidelines	presumptive	

sentence	does	not	apply	to	offenders	subject	to	mandatory	life	

without	the	possibility	of	release	under	subdivision	2	of	that	statute.	

For	offenders	subject	to	life	with	the	possibility	of	release	under	

subdivisions	3	and	4	of	that	statute,	the	court	must	specify	a	minimum	
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term	of	imprisonment,	based	on	the	Sentencing	Guidelines	

presumptive	sentence	as	determined	in	section	2.C,	or	any	applicable	

mandatory	minimum	sentence	not	contained	in	Minn.	Stat.																					

§	609.3455,	that	must	be	served	before	the	offender	may	be	

considered	for	release.	

(2) Presumptive	Executed	Prison	Sentences	of	at	least	36	Months.	Except	

when	a	life	sentence	applies,	if	the	current	conviction	offense	is	

criminal	sexual	conduct	in	the	first,	second,	third,	or	fourth	degree	

(Minn.	Stat.	§§	609.342	to	345)	or	criminal	sexual	predatory	conduct	

(609.3453)	within	15	years	of	a	previous	sex	offense	conviction,	

under	Minn.	Stat.	§	609.3455,	subd.	10,	the	presumptive	disposition	is	

commitment.		The	presumptive	duration	is	at	least	36	months,	or	the	

fixed	duration	indicated	in	the	appropriate	cell	on	the	Grid,	whichever	

is	longer.	

	

Link	to	MN	Revisor	of	Statutes	(Relevant	Text	Below):		2013	Minn.	Laws	Ch.	86,	
Art	3,	Sec.	10	
					
				Sec.	10.	Minnesota	Statutes	2012,	section	609.3455,	is	amended	by	adding	a		
subdivision	to	read:	
				Subd.	10.	Presumptive	executed	sentence	for	repeat	sex	offenders.	Except	as		
provided	in	subdivision	2,	3,	3a,	or	4,	if	a	person	is	convicted	under	sections	609.342	to		
609.345	or	609.3453	within	15	years	of	a	previous	sex	offense	conviction,	the	court	shall		
commit	the	defendant	to	the	commissioner	of	corrections	for	not	less	than	three	years,	nor		
more	than	the	maximum	sentence	provided	by	law	for	the	offense	for	which	convicted,		
notwithstanding	sections	242.19,	243.05,	609.11,	609.12,	and	609.135.	The	court	may		
stay	the	execution	of	the	sentence	imposed	under	this	subdivision	only	if	it	finds	that	a		
professional	assessment	indicates	the	offender	is	accepted	by	and	can	respond	to	treatment		
at	a	long‐term	inpatient	program	exclusively	treating	sex	offenders	and	approved	by	the		
commissioner	of	corrections.	If	the	court	stays	the	execution	of	a	sentence,	it	shall	include		
the	following	as	conditions	of	probation:	
(1)	incarceration	in	a	local	jail	or	workhouse;	and	
(2)	a	requirement	that	the	offender	successfully	complete	the	treatment	program	and		
aftercare	as	directed	by	the	court.	
EFFECTIVE	DATE.	This	section	is	effective	August	1,	2013,	and	applies	to	crimes		
committed	on	or	after	that	date.	
Presented	to	the	governor	May	21,	2013.	
From	Revisor	of	Statutes,	State	of	Minnesota	on	May	24,	2013	at	
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=86&doctype=Chapter&year=2013&type=0.	
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D. Technical	Modifications	
	

The	following	statute	was	recodified	in	2010.		The	Guidelines	must	be	corrected.		
	

1. Overworking	or	mistreating	animals	
	
Description:	The	2010	Legislature	amended	the	statute	for	overworking	or	mistreating	
animals.	 	 A	 new	 gross	 misdemeanor	 for	 harming	 a	 service	 animal	 that	 renders	 the	
service	animal	unable	 to	perform	 its	duties	was	 inserted	as	paragraph	 (e);	 the	 felony	
offenses	that	follow	the	gross	misdemeanor	were	renumbered.	
	
Effective	Date:		August	1,	2010	
	
References:		2010	Chapter	292,	§	2;	2009	Minn.	Stat.	§	343.21				
	
MSGC	Staff	Recommendation:	Correct	Minn.	Sentencing	Guidelines	§	5.	
	

	 5.A.		OFFENSE	SEVERITY	REFERENCE	TABLE	
	

	 *	*	*	

Severity	Level	 Offense	Title	 Statute	Number	

UNRANKED	 Service	Animal	Providing	
Service	

343.21,	subd.	9(e)(g)	(f)(h)	

UNRANKED	 Torture	or	Cruelty	to	Pet	or	
Companion	Animal	

343.21,	subd.	9(c)(d)(f)(h)	
(g)(i)	

	 *	*	*	
	

	 5.B.		SEVERITY	LEVEL	BY	STATUTORY	CITATION	
	

	 *	*	*	

Statute	Number	 Offense	Title	 Severity	Level	

343.21,	subd.	9(e)(g)	
(f)(h)	

Service	Animal	Providing	
Service	

UNRANKED	

343.21,		

subd.	9(c)(d)(f)(h)	(g)(i)	

Torture	or	Cruelty	to	Pet	or	
Companion	Animal	

UNRANKED	

	 *	*	*	


