Skip to:

Previously Licensed in Another District

Applicants Previously Licensed in US or Canada

All applicants are required to pass the Minnesota Veterinary Jurisprudence Examination, a 50 question open-book examination on the regulations governing the practice of veterinary medicine. After your application has been approved, you will be provided further information on this examination.

Veterinarians who were licensed for the first time in another state or province that had licensure requirements similar to the requirements at that time in Minnesota may request the Board to waive any retake of a national examination (see page 3 of the application). Minnesota required the NBE from 1955 to 2000 and both the CCT and the NBE from 1986 to 2000.

If you graduated more than 5 years ago and have practiced or taught less than 3 out of the last 5 years or were first licensed in a state or province with lower licensure requirements than Minnesota, the Board may require you to take an examination.

The following documentation must be provided to the Board to support the application:

  1. Completed application:  Paper Form  or Online Application  

  2. Proof of graduation from an AVMA accredited college of veterinary medicine, or, if you are not a graduate of an accredited college of veterinary medicine, certification of completion of the ECFVG or PAVE program is required. 

  3. Certification of license in good standing from all other jurisdictions in which you hold a current license or have held a license in the past 10 years. The licensing agency should mail the verification directly to the Minnesota Board. 

  4. Score reports of all previously taken national examinations in veterinary medicine, certified by the Veterinary Information Verifying Agency

  5. Affidavits of two veterinarians who are not related to you setting forth how long a time, when, and under what circumstances they have known the applicant, and any other facts as may be proper to enable the Board to determine the qualifications of the applicant. Please have veterinarians include an active license number and state where currently practicing in the letter; and

  6. Fees are: application fee ($50); Jurisprudence Exam fee ($50); and biennial license fee ($220). This $220 fee includes a $20 statewide electronic licensing system surcharge per Minnesota Statutes 16E.22. Please enclose a check for that amount along with your application.

After your application is received and approved, we will contact you and make arrangements for you to take the Jurisprudence Exam. In some cases, this exam will be mailed to you, or if you are in the vicinity of the Twin Cities, the exam can be taken at the Board office. 90% is the passing score and there is a two-hour time limit for taking the exam. Once you have completed the Jurisprudence Exam and all your documentation is in order, your file will be presented to the Board for formal license approval. Board meetings are generally held in February, May and September. See the Board meeting schedule here.

To have your licensure application considered at the next Board meeting, the completed application must be received at least two weeks before the meeting and the completed jurisprudence exam received two days before the meeting. Should you wish to practice in Minnesota prior to the Board meeting, you will need to obtain a temporary permit. See page 3 of the application for details regarding a temporary permit.