Skip to:

Reinstatement following Termination


Barber registrations expire annually. If your registration is not renewed within four years you will be required to re take the appropriate barber board examination. To renew within the four year period you will be required to pay the restoration and MN-IT surcharge fees for each year the certificate was expired. Please contact the office for correct fees regarding your reinstatement.

A registration that is suspended due to Child Support or Department of Revenue Order is not renewable. If the registration is expired when the order to suspend is lifted the reinstatement requirements above will apply.

If the registration has been suspended or terminated as a result of disciplinary action by the Board actions necessary to reinstate the registration will be specified as part of the final disciplinary action. 

NOTE: Per Minnesota Statute you must be registered to practice barbering in Minnesota. Practicing without being registered, with an expired registration or when a registration is suspended is unregistered practice. Being found practicing without a current registration will result in penalty fees pursuant to Minnesota Statute:


154.162  ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES
The board shall impose and collect the following penalties:
(1) missing or lapsed shop registration discovered upon inspection; penalty imposed 
on shop owner: $500;
(2) unlicensed or unregistered apprentice or registered barber, first occurrence 
discovered upon inspection; penalty imposed on shop owner and unlicensed or 
unregistered individual: $500; and
(3) unlicensed or unregistered apprentice or registered barber, second occurrence 
discovered upon inspection; penalty imposed on shop owner and unlicensed or 
unregistered individual: $1,000.