Skip to:

Governor Dayton Proclaims “We Day” in Minnesota

October 08, 2013

At “We Day” Governor to thank young people for volunteering, making the world a better place
ST. PAUL, MN – Today at the Xcel Energy Center, Governor Mark Dayton will congratulate and encourage a crowd of 18,000 Minnesota students and teachers from over 400 Minnesota schools and community groups who have made a commitment to service and volunteerism. Every student attending the “We Day” event in St. Paul has earned their ticket to participate through acts of service and a commitment to making the world a better place.
Governor Dayton will be joined at “We Day” – a day-long event and a movement of young people leading local and global change – by the Jonas Brothers, Her Majesty Queen Noor of Jordan, Jack Jablonski, Martin Luther King III, Fifth Harmony, Mia Farrow, Carly Rae Jepsen, and others for a celebration of service. The event begins at 9:30am. Governor Dayton will speak at 9:55am. The event will be streamed live at and Members of the press are encouraged to attend, and can pre-register at
As part of today's events, Governor Dayton will proclaim Tuesday, October 8, 2013, as “We Day” in Minnesota. A copy of the Governor’s proclamation is available here.
About We Day
We Day is a stadium-sized educational event and a movement of young people leading local and global change. We Day is tied to the year-long program, We Act, which supports students and teachers with free educational resources, student-led campaigns and support materials to help turn the event’s inspiration into sustained action. Since 2007, youth involved in the We Act program have raised $37 million for over 1,000 local and global causes, and logged more than 9.6 million volunteer hours.
Other Speakers Participating in We Day
In addition to Governor Dayton (@GovMarkDayton), Minnesota students, teachers, and supporters participating in tomorrow’s We Day event will be inspired by speakers and award-winning performers, including:

  • Brenda Cassellius (@BCassellius) – Commissioner of Education, Minnesota
  • Chris Coleman (@mayorcoleman) – Mayor of St. Paul
  • Her Majesty Queen Noor of Jordan (@QueenNoor)
  • Jonas Brothers (@jonasbrothers) – GRAMMY®-nominated, multi-platinum artists
  • Carly Rae Jepsen (@carlyraejepsen) – GRAMMY®-nominated, multi-platinum singer-songwriter
  • Fifth Harmony (@FifthHarmony) – America’s first teen girl group
  • Debby Ryan (@DebbyRyan) – Disney® Channel actress and musician
  • Bridgit Mendler (@bridgitmendler) – Platinum selling artist and star of Disney’s Good Luck Charlie
  • Barbara Pierce Bush – Humanitarian, Co-founder and President, Global Health Corps and daughter of Former U.S. President George W. Bush
  • Jesse Giddings (@JesseGiddings) – E! News correspondent and Free the Children ambassador
  • Demi Lovato (@ddlovato) – Award-winning singer-songwriter and Free the Children ambassador, joining via Skype for an important message
  • Minnesota Vikings (@Vikings) – NFL football players
  • Martin Luther King III – Human Rights advocate and eldest son of the late Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
  • Mia Farrow (@MiaFarrow) – Award-winning actress, activists ant United Nations ambassador
  • The Tenors (@TenorsMusic) – Juno Award-winning, multi-platinum singers
  • Katie Garfield (@KatieGarfield) – Singer-songwriter and actress
  • Dessa (@dessadarling) – Doomtree Records recording artist, rapper, singer, poet, and essayist
  • Jack Jablonski (@Jabs_13) – Local Benilde-St. Margaret’s teen who suffered a spinal cord injury during a hockey game
  • Michelle Bergh – Miss Minnesota Pre-Teen
  • We Day Minnesota co-chairs and siblings Hutton Phillips and Dean Phillips, who also serve as Chairman of Talenti Gelato and Co-Chair of the Edward J. Phillips Family Foundation
  • Kenyan Boys Choir (@BoysChoirKenya) – Traditional African male choir, who sang at the 2009 inauguration of President Obama
  • Marissa Mohammed – Youth speaker from the Banyan Community Center
  • Native Pride Arts – Indigenous youth performers whose mission is to education, inspire, motivate, and empower diverse communities
  • Craig and Marc Kielburger (@CraigKielburger) International activists and co-founders of Free the Children
  • Spencer West (@spencer2thewest) – Me to We inspirational speaker, Free the Children ambassador, author and double amputee who climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro on his hands and in his wheelchair in June 2012
  • Molly Burke (@mollymetowe) – Visually impaired Me to We motivational speaker who speaks out against bullying and the power of hope
  • Youth speakers Siddarth Paari and Hanna Alper
  • Robin Wiszowaty (@robininkenya) – Me to We motivational speaker, author, and Free the Children Program Director in Ghana and Kenya
  • Chris Tse – Me to We inspirational speaker, national spoken word champion and humanitarian