Skip to:

Commission on Judicial Selection Announces Vacancies in the Fourth Judicial District

September 23, 2013
ST. PAUL, MN –The Commission on Judicial Selection announced today that five judgeship vacancies are occurring in Minnesota’s Fourth Judicial District Court. These vacancies were created upon the retirements of the Honorable John L. Holahan, Jr., the Honorable William R. Howard, the Honorable Marilyn J. Kaman, the Honorable Richard S. Scherer and the Honorable Lloyd B. Zimmerman. Each seat will be chambered at Minneapolis in Hennepin County.

The Commission is searching for fair, experienced, and civic-minded individuals to serve on the bench and offer their talents and services to Minnesota’s judicial system. The following qualities will be considered for judicial office: integrity, maturity, health (if job related), judicial temperament, legal knowledge, ability, experience, and community service. The application process is now open for these vacancies.
An individual wishing to apply may request an application by writing to Lee E. Sheehy, Chair of the Commission on Judicial Selection, at 130 State Capitol, 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd, St. Paul, MN 55155, or by contacting Andrew Olson, Appointments Coordinator, via e-mail at A cover letter and resume should also be submitted with the application. Application materials are due by close of business, Monday, October 14, 2013. Interviews are scheduled to be held on Thursday, October 31, 2013 and Friday, November 1, 2013, at the Hennepin County Government Center in Minneapolis.
For inquiries concerning the application process, please contact Andrew Olson at or at (651) 201-3413.