Skip to:

Commission on Judicial Selection Recommends First Judicial District Candidates to Governor Dayton

October 17, 2012

Saint Paul, MN – The Commission on Judicial Selection announced today it is recommending three candidates to Governor Mark Dayton for consideration to fill the current vacancy occurring in Minnesota’s First Judicial District. This vacancy was created upon the retirement of the Honorable Philip T. Kanning earlier this year. This district court judgeship will be chambered at Chaska in Carver County in the First Judicial District.

Colleen Goggins King – Ms. King works as a partner with Wornson, Goggins, Zard, Neisen, Morris & King, P.C. where she maintains a general practice that includes family law, criminal defense, estate planning, probate, conservator/guardianship matters and civil litigation. She previously served as a part-time public defender for Scott, Dakota and McLeod Counties and was an attorney with McDonough, Wagner & Ho, L.L.P. Ms. King is a founding board member of the New Prague Area Education Foundation and is a volunteer teacher for St. Wenceslaus Church’s Children’s Liturgy.

Timothy J. Looby – Mr. Looby is a partner at Melchert Hubert Sjodin, P.L.L.P. where he practices family law, including marriage dissolutions, child custody and spousal maintenance. In the past, his practice has also consisted of wills, real estate, business, employment, criminal and municipal law. Mr. Looby also serves as a volunteer attorney with Southern Minnesota Regional Legal Services and is a board member of the Community Foundation for Carver County.

Michael D. Wentzell – Mr. Wentzell serves as Chief Deputy Carver County Attorney where he oversees office operations in relation to directing criminal, civil, and juvenile legal services.  He previously worked as an Assistant Carver County Attorney and as an Associate Attorney with Collins, Buckley, Sauntry & Haugh where he engaged in the general practice of law, including extensive work in family law. Mr. Wentzell is actively involved with the Chaska Rotary Club and is a former Professional Responsibility Ethics Investigator.

The First Judicial District consists of Carver, Dakota, Goodhue, LeSueur, McLeod, Scott and Sibley Counties. An announcement of the appointment will be made following an interview process over the next few weeks.