Skip to:

Commission on Judicial Selection Announces Vacancies in Eighth Judicial District

July 31, 2012

Saint Paul, MN – The Commission on Judicial Selection announced today that two judgeship vacancies are occurring in Minnesota’s Eighth Judicial District Court.  These vacancies were created upon the retirements of the Honorable Steven E. Drange and the Honorable Paul A. Nelson. Judge Drange’s seat will be chambered at Litchfield in Meeker County and Judge Nelson’s seat will be chambered at Montevideo in Chippewa County. Both seats will be chambered within the Eighth Judicial District.
The Commission is searching for fair, experienced and civic-minded individuals to serve on the bench, and offer their talents and services to Minnesota’s judicial system. The following qualities will be considered for judicial office: integrity, maturity, health (if job related), judicial temperament, legal knowledge, ability, experience, and community service. The application process is now open for these vacancies.
An individual wishing to apply may request an application by contacting Tiffany Orth, Appointments Coordinator, via e-mail at A cover letter and resume should also be submitted with the application. Application materials are due by close of business, Tuesday, August 21, 2012. Interviews are scheduled to be held on Thursday, September 6, 2012 at the Stearns County Law Enforcement Center in Saint Cloud.
For inquiries concerning the application process, please contact Tiffany Orth at or at (651) 201-3413.

Minnesota’s Eighth Judicial District consists of Big Stone, Chippewa, Grant, Kandiyohi, LacQuiParle, Meeker, Pope, Renville, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine Counties.