Skip to:

Lt. Governor Prettner Solon to Honor Ninth Annual Red Wagon Award Recipients

June 11, 2012
Saint Paul - Minnesota Alliance With Youth, in conjunction with the office of Lieutenant Governor Yvonne Prettner Solon proudly presents the ninth annual Red Wagon Awards, June 12, 2012 at the Governor’s Residence in St. Paul.

The Red Wagon Awards recognize and celebrate outstanding youth leadership and civic engagement throughout the state. Recipients are nominated for their civic engagement & service, academic achievements, and exemplary leadership. The awards are given to both individuals and groups of young people who are working to create change in their communities.

This year, 11 individual winners and five group winners have been selected by a panel of Alliance Board members, AmeriCorps Promise Fellows, Alumni and Alliance staff. Individual award winners come from all four corners of the state:  Blaine: Adriann Bechtle; Marble: Brandy Johnson; Minneapolis: Donald Hooker Jr.; Northfield: Rey Andrade; St. Paul: Paxton Andrada, Andy Nelson, Nathalie Thao, Chria Vang, Akeeylah Watkins, Lucero Zambrano; Worthington: Valeria Cano;

The group award recipients include both formal and informal groups of youth who engage and support youth leadership, civic engagement, and academic success:

  • YMCA Beacons Leadership Team - Minneapolis 
  • You Got Served! – Saint Paul
  • Big Urban Woods 4H –Saint Paul
  • AmeriCorps Success Team at Morgan Park Middle School – Duluth
  • Youth Leadership Council at Independent School District 622 – North St. Paul

In addition, Youthprise will receive special recognition as a Star Partner for being a champion for youth in Minnesota. Youthprise was founded by The McKnight Foundation in 2011 to increase the quality, accessibility, sustainability and innovation of opportunities for learning beyond the classroom. In partnership with other funders, with youth, and with key stakeholders, Youthprise’s goal is to accelerate leadership and innovation beyond the classroom.

“The Red Wagon Awards is a wonderful opportunity for us to celebrate the meaningful commitments young people make to volunteer service throughout Minnesota,” says Sarah Dixon, President and CEO of the Minnesota Alliance With Youth, “We’re excited to honor this year’s award winners who have contributed to the well-being of our communities in unimaginable ways.”  The 2012 Red Wagon Awards will take place from 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm on Tuesday, June 12, 201