Skip to:

Applicants for Commission on Judicial Selection Eighth Judicial District Vacancy Requested by Governor Dayton

April 24, 2012

St. Paul, MN – Governor Dayton is looking for a committed individual to serve as one of four Eighth Judicial District members of the Commission on Judicial Selection. This position must be held by a non-attorney. The 49-member Commission reviews applications and makes recommendations for vacancies on district court, the Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals, and at the Governor’s request, appellate courts.

Governor Dayton expects Commission members to be dedicated and active throughout their service. The Governor believes that “Minnesota needs to recruit and select the very best among our citizens to assume the enormous responsibilities of serving in the judiciary.”

District members consider vacancies within the judicial district for which they occur. A significant time commitment is expected of members. No compensation shall be received and no expenses incurred will be reimbursed. More information regarding the Commission can be found within its Outline of Procedures on the Governor’s website at

Applicants should offer a letter of interest and a resume for consideration to the Commission. Again, please note that only non-attorneys should apply. All applicants must currently reside within the Eighth Judicial District. Minnesota’s Eighth Judicial District includes the counties of Big Stone, Chippewa, Grant, Kandiyohi, LacQuiParle, Meeker, Pope, Renville, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine. All applications must be received by close of business on Wednesday, May 16, 2012.

Application materials should be sent to Tiffany Orth, Appointments Coordinator, Office of Governor Dayton, 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Saint Paul, MN, 55155 or they can be emailed to

For inquiries concerning the application process, please contact Tiffany Orth at or at (651) 201-3413.