Skip to:

Governor Dayton Announces Membership of Task Force on the Prevention of School Bullying

February 24, 2012

Today, Governor Mark Dayton announced the members of the Governor’s Task Force on the Prevention of School Bullying.  Governor Dayton announced the establishment of this task force on November 29, 2011.
“Bullying causes severe suffering and harm to the children, who are its victims; and we must do more to stop it.  Children and parents in Minnesota should have confidence that their schools are safe places for learning and are free of harm or intimidation.  The work of this Task Force is critical to ensuring that a healthy and nurturing school environment exists for every child in our state,” said Governor Dayton. 

Members of the task force and their affiliations include:

  • Brenda Cassellius, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Education

  • Kevin Lindsey, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Human Rights

  • Willie Bridges, Senior Planning Manager, Hennepin County Attorney’s Office

  • Vangie Castro, Youth Education Program Manager, Rochester Public Schools

  • Phil Duran, Legal Director, OutFront Minnesota

  • Alana Friedman, Teacher

  • Julie Hertzog, Director, PACER National Bullying Prevention Center

  • Lyn Mitchell, Co-Founder, AMAZE

  • Jacob Reitan, Founder, Equality Ride

  • Walter Roberts, Professor of Counselor Education, Minnesota State University, Mankato

  • Dr. Thomas Scott, Pediatrician

  • Senator Scott Dibble

  • Representative Jim Davnie

  • Two Republican legislators have been invited and are yet to be announced by leadership