Skip to:

Commission on Judicial Selection Recommends Seventh Judicial District Candidates to Governor Dayton

January 17, 2012

Saint Paul, MN – The Commission on Judicial Selection announced today it is recommending three candidates to Governor Mark Dayton for consideration to fill the current vacancy created upon Judge Steven P. Ruble’s retirement in Minnesota’s Seventh Judicial District. This judgeship will be chambered in Mille Lacs County in the city if Milaca.

Sarah Hennesy - Hennesy is currently a civil legal aid attorney with St. Cloud Area Legal Services where she practices in family, government assistance and Social Security law. Previously, she worked as an associate attorney with Damiani & Damiani, P.C., representing English and Spanish-speaking clients in criminal and family law matters. She also served as Deputy Public Defender with the Alexandria Public Defender’s Office in Virginia. Hennesy is co-chair of the Stearns County Family Violence Council and is a member of the Oak Hill Elementary School Parent Teacher Student Association. 
Todd Kosovich - Kosovich is an Assistant Morrison County Attorney. He prosecutes all felony cases from their First Appearance through Trial, Sentencing and Probation violations. Kosovich previously served as an Assistant Watonwan County Attorney where he was responsible for all adult criminal cases at petty misdemeanor, misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor level offenses. He is an active member of the Minnesota Talking Book Network and is a member of the Hands of Hope Resource Center Board of Directors. 
Judge Richard Osburn - Judge Osburn currently serves as the tribal judge for the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe where he is responsible for hearing all civil, criminal, juvenile, and child welfare petitions, complaints and motions. Previously, he served as the Senior Deputy Solicitor General for the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe. He also worked as an assistant prosecutor with the Cherokee Nation in Oklahoma. Judge Osburn is a former Division Officer in the U.S. Naval Reserve.

The Seventh Judicial District consists of Becker, Benton, Clay, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd and Wadena counties.
An announcement of the appointment will be made following an interview process over the next few weeks.