Skip to:

Commission on Judicial Selection Announces Vacancies in Fourth Judicial District

June 30, 2011

Saint Paul, MN – The Commission on Judicial Selection announced today that judgeship vacancies are occurring in Minnesota’s Fourth Judicial District Court. The Honorable Gary R. Larson has retired and the Honorable Tony Leung has resigned, leaving two vacancies for district judgeships chambered at Minneapolis in Hennepin County in the Fourth Judicial District. 
The Commission is searching for fair, experienced and civic-minded individuals to serve on the bench, and offer their talents and services to Minnesota’s judicial system. The following qualities will be considered for judicial office: integrity, maturity, health (if job related), judicial temperament, legal knowledge, ability, experience, and community service. The application process is now open for these vacancies.
An individual wishing to apply may request an application by writing to Lee E. Sheehy, Chair of the Commission on Judicial Selection, at 130 State Capitol, 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd, St. Paul, MN 55155, or by contacting Adam Prock, Director of Appointments, via e-mail at 13 copies of application materials should be submitted. All applications and letters of recommendation can only be mailed via USPS to the Governor’s Office at the above address and must be received no later than close of business on Thursday, July 21, 2011. A full outline of the application process is also available on the governor’s website at Interviews are tentatively scheduled to be conducted on Thursday, August 11, 2011 at the Hennepin County Government Center in Minneapolis. 
For inquiries concerning the application process, please contact Adam Prock at