Skip to:

Statement from Governor Dayton on the Addition of Hennepin and Ramsey Counties to Federal Disaster Declaration

August 21, 2014

37 Minnesota counties and three tribal governments will receive federal flood assistance
ST. PAUL, MN – Today, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that Hennepin and Ramsey counties have been added to the Presidential Disaster Declaration designation, making available federal funds for emergency relief and reconstruction assistance following June flooding.  Dakota County is still assessing its damages. Following the announcement, Governor Mark Dayton released the following statement:

“I very much appreciate the FEMA officials returning to Minnesota and making a careful assessment of the considerable flood damage in Hennepin, Ramsey, and Dakota counties. I am very pleased that Hennepin and Ramsey counties have now been included in the FEMA emergency designation, and I am hopeful that Dakota county will also qualify. However, if it does not, it is eligible for the state emergency disaster assistance program, which the legislature passed last spring.”