Skip to:

Governor Dayton Makes Final Appointments to Commission on Judicial Selection

June 27, 2011
Saint Paul, MN — Governor Mark Dayton today announced his final appointments to the Commission on Judicial Selection.
Governor Dayton appointed the following:   
Margaret K. Erickson, who resides in Worthington, is an attorney with Southern Minnesota Regional Legal Services, advising and assisting low-income and elderly clients with civil legal issues. She is a member of the Council of the Minnesota State Bar Association and has also served on several area boards including the Nobles County Historical Society, and the Southwest Minnesota Arts and Humanities Council. Erickson is appointed as a Fifth District Attorney member to the Commission. 
Richard W. Davenport, who resides in Mankato, is the current President of Minnesota State University, Mankato. He began his career at Iowa State University, and then served as the Vice President and Provost at Central Michigan University. Davenport is involved with many boards and committees such as the Greater Mankato Area Growth Board, and the Board of Directors for the Minnesota Center for Rural Policy Development. Davenport is appointed as a Fifth District Non-Attorney member to the Commission. 
Sharon N. Chadwick, who resides in Eveleth, currently serves as a Senior Assistant St. Louis County Attorney. She previously worked as an Assistant Public Defender and Private Practitioner. Chadwick also served as a supervisor for the North St. Louis County Soil and Water Conservation District and as a member of the Executive Board of AFSCME Local 3761. She is appointed as a Sixth District Attorney member to the Commission. 
Nevada R. Littlewolf is The White House Project's Rural Leadership Field Organizer. Littlewolf is a member of the Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe and was the first Native American and only woman currently elected to the Virginia, MN City Council. She previously worked with LSS Range Youth Services and is a member of the Guardian ad Litem Board. Littlewolf is appointed as a Sixth District Non-Attorney member to the Commission. 
Larke L. Huntley, who resides in Grand Rapids, maintains a private legal practice. Previously, he was the owner/manager of the Itasca County Abstract Company. Huntley is a former chair of the Grand Rapids Area Community Foundation and served as a member and chair of the Real Property Council which represents the Real Property Section of the Minnesota State Bar Association. He is appointed as a Ninth District Attorney member to the Commission. 
Shawn M. Mason, who resides in International Falls, is the current mayor of International Falls and also works as an Educational Support Specialist in the International Falls School system. She has served as the Executive Director of the International Falls Chamber of Commerce and was a past President to the Minnesota Arrowhead Association. Mason is appointed as a Ninth District Non-Attorney member to the Commission. 
Robert M.A. Johnson, who resides in Ramsey, is a retired Anoka County Attorney and past president of the Anoka County Bar Association.  He served as chairman of the Anoka County Joint Law Enforcement Council and was actively involved with the City of Anoka Planning Commission before working with the City of Ramsey Planning Commission. Johnson served in the Minnesota National Guard and is currently on the University of Minnesota Foundation’s Board. Johnson is appointed as a Tenth District Attorney member to the Commission. 
Judy C. Duffy, who resides in Birchwood Village, is a director of the League of Women Voters of the US Board where she serves as the first Vice President and Director of Advocacy for the board. She is a former deputy mayor and city council member for the City of Birchwood Village. Duffy also served as a member of the Ad Hoc Advisory Committee to review the code of Judicial Conduct and Rules of the Board on Judicial Standards. She is appointed as a Tenth District Non-Attorney member to the Commission.
The judicial districts are comprised of the following counties:
Fifth Judicial District-Blue Earth, Brown, Cottonwood, Faribault, Jackson, Lincoln, Lyon, Martin, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, Rock and Watonwan counties
Sixth Judicial District-Carlton, Cook, Lake and St. Louis counties
Ninth Judicial District-Aitkin, Beltrami, Cass, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake-Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake and Roseau counties
Tenth Judicial District-Anoka, Chisago, Isanti, Kanabec, Pine, Sherburne, Washington and Wright counties
The Commission on Judicial Selection recruits and reviews judicial candidates for judgeship vacancies that occur within district courts and for openings that take place during the term of a judge on the Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals. The Commission then puts forth three to five recommendations to the Governor for consideration. 49 members are appointed to the Commission; 27 are appointed by the Governor, and 22 by the Supreme Court. 9 members serve in an at-large capacity while 4 members serve per each judicial district.
For more information on the Commission, please visit our judicial page at