Skip to:

Commission on Judicial Selection Recommends Fifth Judicial District Candidates to Governor Dayton

June 25, 2014

ST. PAUL, MN –The Commission on Judicial Selection announced today it is recommending three candidates to Governor Mark Dayton for consideration to fill the current vacancy in Minnesota’s Fifth Judicial District. This vacancy was created upon the retirement of the Honorable Linda S. Titus. Judge Titus’ seat will be chambered at Jackson in Jackson County.

Nicholas Anderson: Mr. Anderson serves as the Cottonwood County Attorney, where he is responsible for the prosecution of all civil and criminal cases brought by the county. He also maintains a solo general practice where he prosecutes conflict cases for local city and county attorneys. Previously, he served as Assistant Cottonwood County Attorney and as a judicial law clerk in Thief River Falls. Mr. Anderson frequently volunteers as a judge for mock trial competitions and with Windom’s National Night Out Program.

Michael Trushenski: Mr. Trushenski serves as the Assistant Martin County Attorney, where he primarily handles felony and gross misdemeanor prosecution. He is also an associate attorney at Viesselman & Barke, P.A, practicing in family and bankruptcy law, personal injury, and probate matters. Mr. Trushenski is the president of the Martin County Law Library Committee, a mentor in the Martin County Mentoring Program, and a past president of the Seventeenth District Bar Association.

Terry Viesselman: Mr. Viesselman is the Martin County Attorney, where his duties include criminal prosecution and providing legal advice to the County Board and departments. He is also a partner at Viesselman & Barke, P.A., practicing primarily in family law, personal injury, civil litigation, and probate matters. Mr. Viesselman is active in local conservation clubs and serves on the Supreme Court Advisory Committee on the Rules of Civil Appellate Procedure.

Minnesota’s Fifth Judicial District consists of Blue Earth, Brown, Cottonwood, Faribault, Jackson, Lincoln, Lyon, Martin, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, Rock, and Watonwan Counties.

An announcement of the appointments will be made following an interview process over the next few weeks.