Skip to:

Commission on Judicial Selection Recommends Fourth Judicial District Candidates to Governor Dayton

June 17, 2014

The Commission on Judicial Selection announced today it is recommending six candidates to Governor Mark Dayton for consideration to fill the four current vacancies in Minnesota’s Fourth Judicial District. These vacancies were created upon the appointment of the Honorable Denise D. Reilly to the Minnesota Court of Appeals and the retirements of the Honorable Ann L. Alton, the Honorable Mary S. DuFresne, and the Honorable Mark S. Wernick. These district court judgeships will be chambered at Minneapolis in Hennepin County in the Fourth Judicial District.

Diane Bratvold: Ms. Bratvold is a shareholder with Briggs and Morgan P.A., where her practice focuses on civil appeals and advice to clients and trial counsel. Ms. Bratvold is also a volunteer attorney at Advocates for Human Rights and an adjunct professor at the University of St. Thomas Law School. Previously, she was a partner with Rider Bennett, L.L.P. and an attorney with Fetterly & Gordon P.A. Ms. Bratvold is a director and secretary of the Champlin Park Vocal Music Association, and a mentor at the University of St. Thomas Law School and the Zion Lutheran Church.

Hilary Caligiuri: Ms. Caligiuri serves as a Senior Assistant Hennepin County Attorney, where she supervises the drug unit and maintains a caseload of felony controlled substance crimes. Previously, she served in the Minnesota Attorney General’s Office as an Assistant Attorney General and as the Deputy Attorney General. Ms. Caligiuri is a member of the Minnesota Violent Crime Coordinating Council, and has served as the secretary of the Board of Trustees for Sunny Hollow Montessori and as a volunteer donation drive organizer for Stork’s Nest.

William Fisher: Mr. Fisher is a shareholder at Gray, Plant, Mooty, Mooty & Bennett, P.A., where his practice consists of commercial bankruptcy cases and commercial collection cases in state and federal court. Mr. Fisher is also an adjunct professor at the William Mitchell College of Law and a community faculty member at Metropolitan State University. Mr. Fisher is a board member for the Society for Legal Aid, a member of the Pro Bono Committee of the Bankruptcy Section of the Minnesota Bar Association, and has served as a pro bono mediator for the Civilian Police Review Authority

Katherine Flom: Ms. Flom is a solo practitioner with a caseload consisting of No Fault Insurance disputes for the American Arbitration Association and pro bono work for the Immigration Law Center of Minnesota and Advocates for Human Rights. Previously, Ms. Flom was a shareholder with Meshbesher & Spence and an Assistant Public Defender in the Hennepin County Public Defender’s Office. Ms. Flom is certified as a Civil Trial Specialist by the National Board of Trial Advocacy, and is a member of the Douglas K. Amdahl Inn of Court and the Minnesota Chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates.

Juan Hoyos: Mr. Hoyos serves as an Assistant County Attorney at the Ramsey County Attorney’s Office, where he prosecutes felonies with an emphasis on crimes against persons. Previously, he was a public defender, serving in Minnesota’s First and Second Judicial Districts and the State Public Defender’s Office. Mr. Hoyos currently co-chairs the Minnesota State Bar Association’s Public Law Section, is a member of the American Bar Association’s House of Delegates, and is the past president of the Warren Burger Inn of Court, the Ramsey County Bar Association, and the Minnesota Hispanic Bar Association.

Lisa Janzen: Ms. Janzen is the managing attorney of the Dakota County Adult Division of the First Judicial District Public Defender’s Office, where she practices in criminal law.  Additionally, she is a Drug Court Specialist and Public Defender Representative for the Dakota County Adult Drug Court, and previously was an Assistant Public Defender in Minnesota’s Seventh Judicial District. Ms. Janzen volunteers with the Olson Middle School PTA, the Olson Middle School Theater, and at High School Mock Trial competitions as a volunteer judge.

Minnesota’s Fourth Judicial District consists of Hennepin County.

An announcement of the appointments will be made following an interview process over the next few weeks.