Skip to:

Dayton Appoints Sen. Ellen Anderson to Public Utilities Commission

March 09, 2011

Today, Governor Mark Dayton announced his appointment of Senator Ellen Anderson to chair the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission (PUC).  Sen. Anderson brings to the PUC a strong background in energy policy and a long-standing commitment to public service.  She was first elected to serve District 66 in the Minnesota Senate in 1992, and she is currently the Ranking Minority Member of the Energy Utilities and Telecommunications Committee.  She previously chaired the Senate Environment, Energy & Natural Resources Budget Division. Sen. Anderson has been a leader in the areas of sustainable energy policy, clean water, affordable housing, family friendly workplace policies, inner city revitalization, and consumer protection.  Sen. Anderson is the author of Minnesota’s landmark Renewable Energy Standard law. 
The Minnesota PUC regulates three cornerstone service industries in Minnesota’s economy: electricity, natural gas and telephone.  The mission of the PUC is to create and maintain a regulatory environment that ensures safe, reliable and efficient utility services at fair and reasonable rates.
About the appointment, Governor Dayton said, “Senator Anderson’s experience and expertise in the areas of energy and the environment will make her an excellent Chair of the Public Utilities Commission.  She has a deep understanding of the important issues that will come before the Commission.  I have great confidence that she will provide the strong leadership needed to fulfill the mission of the PUC.”
Sen. Anderson said, “I am honored and very excited about the opportunity to serve on the Public Utilities Commission.  Governor Dayton and I share a commitment to ensuring strong consumer protection and developing sound energy policy to move Minnesota forward.”
Sen. Anderson will submit her resignation from the State Senate today, effective Sunday, March 20th, 2011.  Governor Dayton will call a special election, as statute requires.  The special primary will occur on Tuesday, March 29th, and the special election will be held on Tuesday, April 12th.