Skip to:

Governor Dayton Files “Notice of Intent to Appoint” Forms Naming Individuals to the Met Council

March 02, 2011

St. Paul — Today, Governor Mark Dayton filed “Notice of Intent to Appoint” forms with the Secretary of State for the sixteen Metropolitan Council districts.  After a five day review period, required by statute, these individuals will be appointed to the Metropolitan Council next Monday, March 7, 2011. 
The individuals named are:
District 1:     Roxanne Smith, Champlin
District 2:     Lona Schreiber, Brooklyn Park
District 3:     Jennifer Munt, Minnetonka
District 4:     Gary Van Eyll, Chaska
District 5:     Steven Elkins, Bloomington
District 6:     James Brimeyer, St. Louis Park
District 7:     Gary Cunningham, Minneapolis
District 8:     Adam Duininck, Minneapolis
District 9:      Edward Reynoso, Ham Lake
District 10:    John Doan, Blaine
District 11:    Sandra Rummel, White Bear Lake
District 12:    Harry Melander, Mahtomedi
District 13:    Richard Kramer, St. Paul
District 14:    Jon Commers, St. Paul
District 15:    Steven Chavez, Eagan
District 16:    Wendy Wulff, Lakeville
The process of appointing these individuals began on January 4, 2011, Governor Dayton’s second day of office, when he contacted all local government officials in the seven-county metropolitan area, seeking their help and input to find quality candidates and urge them to apply to the Council.  Over two hundred fifty individuals submitted applications, and the list was narrowed to ninety-five finalists.  The seven-member nominating committee, chaired by Mr. Jay Cowles, held public hearings and interviewed each of the finalists.
The appointees to the Council represent the diversity of the Metropolitan area they will serve, and each is very highly recommended by civic leaders in the districts they will represent.  They bring extensive experience in areas of the Metropolitan Council's responsibilities, including transportation, environment, land planning, affordable housing and regional parks.
In announcing his selections, Governor Dayton said, "The outstanding women and men whom I intend to appoint to the Metropolitan Council were among the most difficult selections I have made as Governor, because of the exceedingly high quality of so many of the over 250 applicants.  Their selections are great tributes to their previous community involvements and their proven leadership abilities. I am confident that the people in our Metropolitan area will be well-served by them.
"I want to thank Metropolitan Council Chair Sue Haigh, Nominating Committee Chair Jay Cowles, the other Nominating Committee Members, and the Council staff for the hundreds of hours they devoted to this selection process."
Chairwoman Sue Haigh said, “There were a tremendous number of high-caliber candidates who applied to serve on the Council.  I think Governor Dayton made excellent choices and I look forward to working with the Governor and the new Council to move forward with our vision for the region.”
Short biographies of each of the individuals are listed below: 
District 1: Roxanne Smith, Champlin

Ms. Smith is the Director of Social Justice Ministry at St. Joseph the Worker Catholic Church in Maple Grove. She is an advocate for affordable housing, transit and fair job opportunities.

District 2: Lona Schreiber, Brooklyn Park

Ms. Schreiber’s experience as a former legislator, Anoka County Governmental Relations Coordinator and Brooklyn Park Charter Commission member will bring vision and depth to the Council.  She is interested in identifying innovative ways to meet the economic and aging population challenges we face.

District 3: Jennifer Munt

Ms. Munt is the President of Transit for Livable Communities and the Public Affairs Director for AFSCME Council 5.  She is an ardent advocate for a balanced transportation system that encourages transit ridership, walking, biking and thoughtful development.

District 4: Gary Van Eyll

Mr. Van Eyll is the former Mayor of Chaska and current member of the Carver County Planning Commission.  He has been an advocate for affordable housing, transit and transportation.

District 5: Steve Elkins

Mr. Elkins has an extensive public service background—at both the government and community organization level—with particular focus in the area of transportation and community development. 

District 6: Jim Brimeyer

Mr. Brimeyer is a former St. Louis Park City Manager and City Council Member.  Currently he is the Treasurer of the St. Louis Park Community Foundation and recently served on the South West Corridor Policy Advisory Committee.

District 7: Gary Cunningham

Mr. Cunningham is the Chief Program Officer for the Norwest Area Foundation and former Director of the Office of Planning and Development for Hennepin County.  He brings experience in housing, community and economic development and transit to the Council.

District 8: Adam Duininck

Mr. Duininck is the Legislative and Political Director for the International Union of Operating Engineers Local 49.  He is active in the Transportation Alliance and has served on the Transportation Strategic Management Task Force.

District 9: Edward Reynoso

Mr. Reynoso brings to the Council experience in transportation and wastewater services.  This experience was gained through his work as a transportation industry union representative and through his involvement in related issues within his community.

District 10: John Doan

Mr. Doan is a Senior Associate at SRF Consulting Group and his work includes transportation planning and congestion management.  He has a passion for urban and regional planning and will bring a rich background in transportation, transportation, housing and urban affairs. 

District 11: Sandra Rummel

Former Senator Rummel has a strong interest in water quality and usage policies and a depth of knowledge gained through her work on the Senate Environment Committee and Clean Water Legacy Subcommittee. 

District 12: Harry Melander

Mr. Melander is president of the Minnesota State Building and Construction Trades Council.  In addition to his work in the trades, he has served on many community boards and has a keen understanding of the development issues in his district.

District 13: Richard Kramer

Mr. Kramer is a small business owner with extensive experience in his community through his work on the St. Paul Planning Commission and various community organizations.  

District 14: Jon Commers

Mr. Commers is a founder and operator of a consulting business providing service to private, public and non-profit clients.  He brings an understanding of the policy and fiscal issues surrounding public investment and  a strong interest in addressing the issues of affordable housing, transportation and economic development on a regional basis.

District 15: Steven Chavez

Mr. Chavez is a life-long resident of District 15 who through his public service has demonstrated a commitment to his community over the past 30 years.  In addition to serving on the Eagan Planning Commission, he has served on multiple advisory committees and task forces dealing with housing, health, aging, transportation and minority issues.  

District 16: Wendy Wulff

Ms. Wulff is the incumbent Council member representing District 16.  Prior to being appointed to the Met Council, Wendy served on the Lakeville City Council and the League of Minnesota Cities.  She also has held several appointed position at the local and regional level. She most recently served on the Council’s Environment and Community Development committees.