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On January 27, 2015, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) approved Indiana’s waiver 
request under Section 1115 of the Social Security Act to implement its Medicaid expansion. Referred to 
as the Healthy Indiana Plan (HIP) 2.0, the three-year demonstration builds on Indiana’s existing Medicaid 
managed care and HIP waivers, allowing expansion to take effect on February 1, less than a week after  
the demonstration’s approval. 

HIP 2.0 will cover an estimated 350,000 individuals in the new adult group as well as parents and 
caretakers who were previously eligible for Medicaid.1 Pregnant women are generally excluded from the 
demonstration. The primary HIP 2.0 coverage mechanism is a high-deductible (Medicaid) health plan. 
The $2,500 deductible under the plan is paid by the enrollee’s POWER account, a health savings (HSA)-
like account funded with a combination of enrollee contributions, Medicaid funds and, in some instances, 
contributions from employers, providers, or other third parties. The amount an enrollee is expected to 
contribute varies by income and eligibility category, as do the implications for failing to contribute to the 
account. The State is also offering individuals with access to cost-effective employer-sponsored coverage 
a premium assistance option, in which the State would cover the beneficiary’s premium and cost sharing 
for the employer-sponsored plan. 

Notably, the Indiana expansion waiver includes several provisions that we have not seen in earlier 
alternative expansion models, permitting the State to: 

 Charge contributions (premiums) to newly eligible individuals with incomes as low as 0% of the 
federal poverty level (FPL). 

 Extend its existing six-month “lockout” period (under its HIP 1.0 waiver) to most newly eligible 
individuals with incomes above 100% of the FPL who do not pay their contributions within a 60-
day grace period.  

 Impose co-pays of up to $25 for repeated nonemergency use of the emergency department.  
 Waive retroactive coverage. 

                                                      
1 American Indians/Alaskan Natives are permitted to opt out of the demonstration and receive coverage through the State’s fee-for-
service Medicaid program. 
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CMS did not approve Indiana’s request to waive Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment 
(EPSDT) for 19- and 20-year-olds who do not make POWER account contributions, nor did it allow the 
State to condition Medicaid eligibility on work requirements. 

Key features of HIP 2.0 include the following: 

 POWER Accounts. The POWER accounts are administered through managed care organizations 
and, as noted above, are used to pay for health plan deductibles. Medicaid enrollees are expected to 
make monthly contributions to the account on an income-based sliding scale. Contributions are set at 
2% of monthly income except in cases where household income is less than or equal to 5% of the 
FPL; for these individuals, monthly contributions are a minimum of one dollar. 

Enrollees with incomes above 100% of the FPL who fail to make a POWER account contribution are 
given a 60-day grace period during which the POWER account remains active and their managed 
care plan advises them of their payment obligation. Thereafter, failure to contribute results in 
termination of Medicaid eligibility. Individuals who are terminated for failure to contribute to their 
POWER account are not able to reapply for Medicaid coverage for six months, with limited exceptions 
such as if the individual lost recently-obtained private coverage or if the individual moved back to 
Indiana after residing in another state. After six months, the individual may reapply for coverage. Any 
unpaid contribution amounts remain as a debt, but do not have to be repaid in order to reenroll in 
Medicaid. Medically frail individuals are not subject to a lockout period.  

Enrollees with incomes at or below 100% of the FPL who fail to make the required contribution to the 
POWER account do not risk loss of Medicaid coverage; their POWER account remains active and is 
fully funded, but these enrollees receive a less generous benefit package than those individuals who 
remain current in their POWER account contributions. (See below for details of the three HIP benefit 
packages.)  

Medically frail expansion adults and low-income parents and caretakers also have the POWER 
account but are not required to make contributions. 

 Covered Benefits. Depending on income, eligibility category and contribution to the POWER 
account, individuals have access to one of three benefit packages as follows: 

 HIP Plus is available to individuals with incomes above 100% of the FPL and to individuals 
with incomes at or below 100% of the FPL who contribute to the POWER account. HIP Plus 
covers the 10 essential health benefits (EHBs) plus enhanced benefits including vision, 
dental, and a comprehensive drug benefit. The State has received a one-year waiver of 
nonemergency medical transportation (NEMT) for individuals enrolled in the HIP Plus plan. 

 HIP Basic, a more limited benefit package than HIP Plus, is available to individuals with 
incomes at or below 100% of the FPL who do not contribute to the POWER account by 
60 days after Medicaid enrollment. It covers all benefits required by the ACA for the new adult 
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population, including the 10 EHBs. However, it does not cover dental or vision services, and it 
has a less comprehensive drug benefit than HIP Plus. The State also received a one-year 
waiver of NEMT for individuals enrolled in the HIP Basic plan. 

 State Plan/Standard is available to medically frail new adults and low-income parents and 
caretakers previously eligible for Medicaid. Unlike HIP Basic or HIP Plus, this benefit package 
includes long-term care services. Individuals enrolled in the State Plan/Standard benefit 
package have access to NEMT. 

 POWER Account Incentives. Incentives available to enrollees depend on whether they are enrolled 
in HIP Basic or HIP Plus and whether they meet certain healthy behavior standards. 

 Enrollees in HIP Plus who have a balance in their POWER account and who have not been 
disenrolled from HIP 2.0 during the year are eligible to roll over a portion of their unused 
personal contributions according to a formula developed by the State. If they have received 
recommended preventive care services, the rollover amount is matched by the State. The 
rollover funds can be used by HIP Plus enrollees to reduce or eliminate their POWER 
account contributions during the next plan year. 

 Enrollees in HIP Basic who have funds left in their POWER account at the end of the plan 
year and have received recommended preventive health services are eligible for discounted 
contributions provided they are enrolled in HIP Plus during the next plan year. The amount of 
the discount is tied to the percentage of funds remaining in the POWER account, and the 
discount is no greater than 50% of the amount they would otherwise have been required to 
contribute. 

 Cost Sharing. Cost sharing varies based on whether an individual is contributing to the POWER 
account and also the benefit package in which the individual is enrolled. In all cases, total cost 
sharing plus contributions to the POWER account are capped at 5% of the household income, as 
required by federal Medicaid rules. 

 New adults enrolled in HIP Plus have no point-of-service cost-sharing obligations, with the 
exception of a co-pay for nonemergency use of the emergency department. The first 
nonemergency visit is subject to an $8 co-pay; thereafter, the co-pay is $25 for subsequent 
nonemergency visits that year. These co-pays are waived if the individual contacts his or her 
managed care plan 24-hour nurse hotline before going to the emergency department. To test 
the impact of this co-pay approach, the State will establish a control group of up to 5,000 
enrollees that will be charged an $8 co-pay for all nonemergency visits and meet the other 
requirements of Section 1916(f) of the Social Security Act. CMS has only approved the 
waiver allowing for $8 and $25 co-pays for nonemergency use of the emergency department 
for the first two years of the demonstration.  
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 New adults enrolled in HIP Basic are subject to Medicaid-compliant cost sharing for all 
services; no co-pays are imposed on preventive care, family planning, or maternity services. 
These enrollees are also subject to the $8 and $25 co-pays on nonemergency use of the 
emergency department, as described above. 

 Medically frail new adults and low-income parents and caretakers enrolled in the State 
Plan/Standard Medicaid benefit are not subject to point-of-service cost sharing if they 
contribute to the POWER account. If these individuals do not contribute to the POWER 
account, the State fully funds the account, but they are subject to voluntary cost sharing 
consistent with federal Medicaid law and the $8 and $25 co-pays for nonemergency use of 
the emergency department. 

 Health Insurance Premium Payment Program. Newly eligible adults ages 21 and over who have 
access to cost-effective employer-sponsored insurance have the option of enrolling in HIP Link – a 
Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) program. For HIP Link enrollees, the State provides 
premium assistance in the form of a $4,000 annual contribution to the individual’s POWER account. 
Individuals enrolled in HIP Link are not required to contribute to their POWER account; instead, they 
contribute to the cost of their coverage through a monthly payroll deduction between one dollar and 
2% of monthly household income. HIP Link enrollees use their POWER accounts to pay the State 
portion of their employer-sponsored plan premium. Remaining POWER account funds can be used to 
pay co-pays beyond Medicaid limits, deductibles, and out-of-pocket costs. The State only approves 
employer-sponsored plans that provide benefits that align with one of the State’s alternative benefit 
plans. The State’s one-year waiver of NEMT applies to individuals enrolled in HIP Link with the 
exception of pregnant women. The State monitors HIP Link enrollee cost sharing, and if an 
individual’s cost sharing approaches 5% of household income, the State  transitions the individual to 
HIP Plus.2  

 Retroactive Coverage. CMS granted Indiana a waiver of the requirement to provide retroactive 
coverage to individuals determined eligible for Medicaid. Under HIP 2.0, individuals begin receiving 
HIP Plus coverage on the first day of the month in which they make their first POWER account 
contribution. Individuals with incomes at or below 100% of the FPL who do not make an initial 
contribution for HIP Plus receive HIP Basic coverage beginning the first day of the month when the 
60-day HIP Plus grace period ends. Through presumptive eligibility and its fast track pre-payment 
program described below, the State provides two pathways for individuals to secure more immediate 
coverage. The State is also required to reimburse providers for medical care received by previously 
eligible adults (the section 1931 group) for 90 days prior to the effective date of coverage.  Finally, the 
State is required to provide CMS at the end of year one with significant data on its experience without 
retroactive coverage under this demonstration. 

                                                      
2 Generally, the State allows individuals to move from HIP Link to HIP Plus at least once per year. Individuals are permitted to 
transition midyear if they meet qualifying circumstances, such as self-identifying as medically frail or becoming ineligible for their 
employer-sponsored coverage.  
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 Presumptive Eligibility. To allow new adults to gain immediate access to coverage, Indiana is 
operating an “expanded presumptive eligibility program,” in which Federally Qualified Health Centers, 
Rural Health Centers, Community Mental Health Centers, and Health Departments, in addition to 
hospitals, are permitted to enroll individuals into Medicaid immediately. Individuals enrolled through 
the presumptive eligibility program can receive coverage for at least 60 days (during which they are 
expected to pay their contribution), and the coverage starts on the first day of the month during which 
they apply. Individuals who make their POWER account contribution during the 60-day presumptive 
eligibility period experience no gap in coverage.  

Individuals with incomes at or below 100% of the FPL determined eligible for HIP 2.0 who do not 
contribute to their POWER account are able to transition immediately to HIP Basic after the end of 
their presumptive coverage. Only individuals with incomes above 100% of the FPL who do not 
contribute to their POWER account within 60 days after applying for HIP 2.0 lose coverage. CMS has 
imposed rigorous monitoring requirements on Indiana to ensure that the presumptive eligibility 
program is operating as envisioned. 

 Fast Track Pre-Payment. As a second mechanism for facilitating timely coverage, the State is 
developing a fast track POWER account pre-payment process to allow individuals to pay $10 when 
applying for HIP 2.0 to gain immediate coverage on the first day of the month of their eligibility 
determination. Once the individual has been enrolled in HIP Plus, the State reconciles the $10 
contribution with the individual’s actual required contribution amount. The State refunds contributions 
paid by individuals found ineligible for HIP 2.0.  

 Work Referrals. In its waiver application, the State requested that unemployed individuals and those 
working fewer than 20 hours per week be referred to the State’s forthcoming Gateway to Work 
program for job training and job search support. The State envisioned that these individuals would be 
required to acknowledge this referral as part of HIP 2.0 enrollment process. CMS did not approve this 
request, instead acknowledging in its waiver approval letter that the State will make the Gateway to 
Work program available to interested individuals outside of the HIP 2.0 demonstration. 

 Funding. The HIP 2.0 demonstration is authorized through January 31, 2018; as a result, the State 
will not receive 100% federal match through the entirety of the demonstration. Indiana plans to fund 
the State share from January 2017 forward through a combination of its cigarette tax revenue and its 
hospital assessment. The Indiana Hospital Association supports this approach. 

Moving Forward 

As noted above, the Indiana waiver builds on earlier alternative expansions and introduces several 
features that CMS has not previously approved in the context of expansion waivers, including the waiver 
of retroactive coverage, the six-month lockout period and premiums for individuals below 50% of the 
federal poverty level. Notably, these provisions were features of the earlier Indiana HIP waiver and in this 
demonstration are subject to extensive monitoring and evaluation requirements as well as enhanced 
presumptive eligibility requirements with respect to the waiver of retroactive coverage. Other states may 

http://www.in.gov/fssa/hip/files/IN_HIP_2.0_CMS_Approval_Ltr_1_27_15.pdf
http://www.in.gov/fssa/hip/files/HIP_2.0_Financing_Overview.pdf
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well seek to incorporate these new flexibilities provided by CMS to Indiana in existing or new 
demonstration programs. Indeed, in its draft expansion waiver amendment, Tennessee noted that it was 
not proposing a lockout period for individuals who fail to pay premiums but “reserve[d] the right” to 
request this provision if CMS granted Indiana a waiver allowing for a lockout period. It remains to be seen 
whether and under what conditions CMS will permit other states to adopt similar provisions to those 
approved in Indiana. 

Several other features of the Indiana waiver deserve mention. First, this is the first time any state has 
used Section 1916(f) to waive cost-sharing limits; specifically to impose a $25 co-pay for repeated 
nonemergency use of the ER. As required by Section 1916(f), Indiana must set up a control group to test 
the impact of this co-pay requirement and meet a number of other statutory requirements. In addition, it 
should be noted that new adults may not be entitled to any coverage of nonemergency use of the 
emergency room, as such coverage is generally not considered one of the 10 EHBs as defined by the 
base benchmark plan. Second, while no other state has tied payment of premiums to the type of benefit 
package the individual receives (here, HIP Plus or HIP Basic), it should be emphasized that even the 
more limited benefit package meets minimum coverage requirements. 

The introduction of a voluntary premium assistance program for Medicaid beneficiaries with access to 
cost-effective employer-sponsored coverage builds on a long-standing Medicaid option. The difference 
here (and also as proposed by Tennessee) is that individuals would receive a lump sum amount from the 
state Medicaid agency that they would have to manage to cover their co-premiums and cost sharing. 
Typically, the state is on the hook for all payments above Medicaid levels. However, in Indiana, the 
program is voluntary, leaving the beneficiary with the decision as to whether the program makes sense 
for him or her. In addition, if the beneficiary’s cost-sharing obligation exceeds 5% of household income, 
they transition out of the premium assistance program (HIP Link). 

Consistent with other alternative Medicaid expansions, Indiana uses an HSA-like account and, like 
Michigan, relies on its Medicaid managed care plans to administer them. Following Pennsylvania, it builds 
in a non-mandatory work referral.  

Indiana’s waiver and the pending expansion proposals in Montana, Wyoming, Utah and Tennessee 
reinforce the themes of earlier alternative expansions, embracing elements of personal responsibility 
through premiums, cost sharing and healthy behavior standards and relying more on the private market 
through Medicaid managed care plans, qualified health plans and third-party administrators.  
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