Older Workers

Sometimes, seniors want to return to work. Sometimes, they must return for financial reasons. In any case, older workers often find that they need updated skills before they can successfully find a job.

Through our Senior Community Service Employment Program, we help people age 55 and older who meet eligibility guidelines get the on-the-job training and current work experience they need through paid community service assignments.

The services of this program are ideal for:

  • Retirees who wish to return to work part time.
  • Widowed individuals who have little recent work experience outside the home.
  • Older adults who are unemployed and wish to learn new skills.

Who Can Apply

Who Should Apply 
To qualify for these services, applicants must meet certain federal income guidelines. The Program Year 2013 annual household income limit is $14,363 for an individual and $19,388 for a couple. The allowable income amount increases with each additional family member.

We have selected a group of local agencies to provide services statewide. Those designated service providers will help you determine if you are eligible and then handle all aspects of your participation in the program.

What Happens Next 
Once your eligibility has been determined, we'll help arrange a community service assignment for you.

You will receive the federal or state minimum wage, whichever is higher. Sometimes the local prevailing wage for similar employment is used if it is higher than the minimum wage.

You can also receive the following benefits: Physical examinations, personal and job related counseling, job training and future job placement.

Find a Provider

  • Service Providers in the Twin Cities

    State of Minnesota    
    Department of Employment and Economic Development   
    Workforce Development Division    
    Employment Support and MinnesotaWorks.net    
    1st National Bank Building, 332 Minnesota Street, Suite E200, St. Paul, MN 55101-1351    
    Phone: (651) 259-7114    
    Fax: (651) 215-3842    
    TTY: 1-800-657-3973    
    Contact Person: Taryn Galehdari,  taryn.galehdari@state.mn.us   
    Contact Phone: (651) 259-7540

    Anoka County Job Training Center   
    1201 89th Avenue NE, Suite 235, Blaine, MN 55434   
    Phone: (763) 783-4800   
    Fax: (763) 783-4814   
    TTY: (763) 783-4724   
    County Served: Anoka   
    Contact Person: Jody Schanilec,  jody.schanilec@co.anoka.mn.us   
    Contact Phone: (763) 783-4804

    East Side Neighborhood Service, Inc.   
    1700 - 2nd Street, NE, Minneapolis, MN 55413   
    Phone: (612) 787-4053   
    Fax: (612) 787-4002   
    TTY: (Relay Service 1-800-627-3529)   
    County Served: Hennepin   
    Contact Person: Macey Wheeler,  mwheeler@esns.org   
    Contact Phone: (612) 787-4090

    Scott County WorkForce Center   
    752 Canterbury Road South, Shakopee, MN 55379-1840   
    Phone: (952) 496-8273   
    Fax: (952) 496-8685   
    TTY: (952) 402-9801   
    County Served: Scott   
    Contact Person: Beth Olson,  bolson@co.scott.mn.us   
    Contact Phone: (952) 496-8528

    Washington County - Woodbury WorkForce Center   
    Woodbury Service Center   
    2150 Radio Drive, Woodbury, MN 55125   
    Phone: (651) 275-8650   
    Fax: (651) 275-8682   
    TTY: (651) 275-8653   
    County Served: Washington   
    Contact Person: Angela Plumbo,  angela.plumbo@co.washington.mn.us   
    Contact Phone: (651) 275-8685

  • Service Providers in Greater MN

    Arrowhead Economic Opportunity Agency     
    702 - 3rd. Avenue South, Virginia, MN 55792    
    Phone: (218) 749-2912    
    Fax: (218) 749-2944    
    TTY: (800) 234-1115    
    Counties Served: Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, St. Louis    
    Contact Person: Julie Greenly,  julie.greenly@aeoa.org     
    Contact Phone: (218) 748-7332

    Central Minnesota Jobs and Training Services    
    106 Pine Street, Suite 2, P.O. Box 720, Monticello, MN 55362    
    Phone: (763) 271-3715    
    Fax: (763) 271-3701    
    TTY: (763) 271-3745    
    Counties Served: Aitkin, Carlton, Chisago, Isanti, Kanabec, McLeod, Meeker, Mille Lacs, Pine, Sherburne, Wright    
    Contact Person: Twylla Wozniak,  twozniak@cmjts.org    
    Contact Phone: (763) 271-3705

    Duluth Workforce Development    
    402 W 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802-1102    
    Phone: (218) 302-8400    
    Fax: (218) 730-5952    
    TTY: (218) 730-5000    
    County Served: St. Louis    
    Contact Person: Carol Turner,  cturner@duluthmn.gov
    Contact Phone: (218) 730-5244

    ELDERCIRCLE    
    1105 NW 4th St, Grand Rapids, MN 55744    
    Phone: (218) 999-9233    
    Fax: (218) 999-7543    
    TTY: Relay Service 1-800-627-3529    
    County Served: Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, St. Louis    
    Contact Person: Karla Edminster, karla@eldercircle.org
    Contact Phone: (218) 999-9233

    Experience Works, Inc.    
    507 N Nokomis St, Ste 205, Alexandria, MN 56308    
    Phone: (320) 421-8086    
    Fax: (320) 219-7422    
    TTY: (Relay Service 1-800-627-3529)    
    Counties Served: Becker, Beltrami, Benton, Big Stone, Cass, Chippewa, Clay, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Dakota, Dodge, Douglas, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Grant, Hennepin, Houston, Hubbard, Kandiyohi, Kittson, Lac Qui Parle, Le Sueur, Lincoln, Lyon, Mahnomen, Marshall, Morrison, Mower, Norman, Olmstead, Otter Tail, Pennington, Polk, Pope, Ramsey, Redwood, Renville, Rice, Roseau, Sibley, Stearns, Steele, Stevens, Swift, Todd, Traverse, Wabasha, Wadena, Waseca, Washington, Wilkin, Winona, Yellow Medicine.    
    Contact Person: Teri Stepaniak,  teri_stepaniak@experienceworks.org
    Contact Phone: (320) 421-8086 Toll Free: (855) 270-9660

    Inter-County Community Council, Inc.    
    207 Main St, P.O. Box 189, Oklee, MN 56742    
    Phone: (218) 796-5144    
    Fax: (218) 796-5175    
    TTY: (Relay Service 1-800-627-3529)    
    Counties Served: Clearwater, Lake of the Woods, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, Roseau    
    Contact Person: Betty Halvorson,  bhalvorson@intercountycc.org    
    Contact Phone: (218) 796-5144 Ext. 35

    Minnesota Chippewa Tribe    
    15542 State 371 NW, P.O. Box 217, Cass Lake, MN 56633-0217    
    Phone: (218) 335-8585    
    Fax: (218) 335-8080    
    TTY: (Relay Service 1-800-627-3529)    
    Counties Served: Becker, Carlton, Cass, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Mahnomen, Mille Lacs, St. Louis    
    Contact Person: Vera Brown,  vbrown@mnchippewatribe.org    
    Contact Phone: (218) 335-8586

    Minnesota Valley Action Council
    706 North Victory Drive, Mankato, MN 56001
    Phone: (507) 345-2405
    Fax: (507) 345-2414    
    TTY: (507) 389-6512    
    Counties Served: Blue Earth, Brown, Faribault, Martin, Nicollet, Watonwan    
    Contact Person: Jerry Fischenich,  jfischenich@mnvac.org    
    Contact Phone: (507) 389-6992

    Rural Minnesota CEP, Inc.    
    803 Roosevelt Avenue, P.O. Box 1108, Detroit Lakes, MN 56502-1108    
    Phone: (218) 846-7400    
    Fax: (218) 846-7404    
    TTY: (218) 846-0772    
    Counties Served: Becker, Beltrami, Cass, Clay, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Douglas, Grant, Hubbard, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Morrison, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens, Todd, Traverse, Wadena, Wilkin    
    Contact Person: Terry Janes,  terryj@rmcep.com    
    Contact Phone: (218) 846-7400

    Southwestern Minnesota Opportunity Council    
    1106 - 3rd Avenue, P. O. Box 787, Worthington, MN 56187    
    Phone: (507) 376-4195    
    Fax: (507) 376-3636    
    TTY: (507) 372-7279    
    Counties Served: Cottonwood, Jackson, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock    
    Contact Person: Paula Boehrs,  pboehrs@smoc.us    
    Contact Phone: (507) 376-4195 ext. 235

  • National Service Provider

    National Indian Council on Aging, Inc.
    Central Region Office, N559 Library Road, Keshena, WI 54135
    Phone: (715) 799-5309
    Fax: (715) 799-5314
    TTY: Relay Service (800) 627-3529
    Serving: MN, WI, SD, ND, UT, CO, & NM
    Contact Person: Erica Hawpetoss, ehawpetoss@nicoa.org

View Videos About the Program

A video for employers explains the benefits of higher older workers.

This video provides a success story of one of our older worker customers.

Contact

For more information, contact:

Taryn Galehdari 
Telephone: (651) 259-7540 
Email: Taryn.Galehdari@state.mn.us