Skip to content

Renew a Salesperson License


Prior to each renewal period, reminder postcards are sent to the Primary Broker of each real estate company. The renewal postcards direct the primary broker to the PULSE portal (www.pulseportal.com) and provide any other necessary information that the primary broker may need in order to renew a salesperson license online. Also See: 2013 License-Renewal Overview

Resident

  • The Primary Broker must certify through the on-line renewal process that the licensee has completed thirty (30) hours of continuing education within the 2 years prior to each renewal, including at least 1 hour of fair housing law, 1 hour of agency law, and the required residential leasing module course.

  • Licensee's continuing education must be uploaded into the Pulse portal by the education provider.

  • All education records are subject to random audit by the Commerce Department.

Nonresident

All nonresident real estate agent license renewals will lapse unless the following information is received prior to June 30, 4:30 p.m. Central Time:

  1. From real estate agents "residing" in the reciprocal states of Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota or Oklahoma.

    • A current letter of certification must be submitted by email to licensing.commerce@state.mn.us or Licensing fax 651-539-0114 before the renewal will be processed. Please show "Reciprocal Real Estate Renewal Certification" in the subject line of the email or fax.

  2. From real estate agents "residing" in the reciprocal states of Colorado and Wisconsin.

    • Copies of all 30 hours of continuing education course completion certificates must be submitted by email to licensing.commerce@state.mn.us or Licensing Fax 651-539-0114 before the renewal will be processed. Please show "Colorado or Wisconsin Real Estate Renewal CE Certificates" in the subject line of the email or fax. Courses approved for the resident state's real estate license in Colorado or Wisconsin, may be used to satisfy the Minnesota CE requirement. Please Note: Total hours must include the Minnesota required residential leasing module course.

  3. From all other Nonresident real estate agents:

    • Copies of all 30 hours of continuing education course completion certificates must be submitted by email to licensing.commerce@state.mn.us or Licensing fax 651-539-0114 before the renewal will be processed. Please show "Nonresident Real Estate Renewal CE Certificates" in the Subject line of the email or fax. Courses approved for the resident state's real estate license may be used to satisfy the Minnesota CE requirement. Please Note: Total hours must include the Minnesota required residential leasing module course.