Skip to content

Apply for an Abstracter License


Abstracter, Abstracter Company, and Abstracter Individual Proprietor

To apply for one of these license types go to www.pulseportal.com and submit an application electronically.

After selecting "Minnesota Department of Commerce" as the program and "Abstracter" as the board, click on the "Submit a License Application" link and follow the necessary steps. After your application has been approved, you can make profile changes, print your own license, and process your own renewals. Please remember that it is the responsibility of the licensee to maintain their license information through the PULSE portal.

General application information for Abstracter and Abstracter Individual Proprietor Licenses

  1. The license fee is $55. In accordance with Minn. Stat. 16E.22, this fee includes a 10% surcharge, which is being collected on behalf of the Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology to fund a statewide electronic licensing system. In addition, the online system vendor also charges processing fees.

  2. Original passing results for the prelicense examination must be faxed to "Abstracter Processing" at 651-539-0114. Please also include a copy of your application confirmation page. Your electronic application cannot be processed until staff receives your passing exam results. (Get exam information on our website.) The exam may not be more than one year old at the time of application for licensure.

  3. A licensed abstracter may not act as the licensed abstracter for more than one company at any one time.

  4. An applicant must submit an annual bond or abstracter's liability insurance policy for each license year, to be approved by the commissioner, running to the state of Minnesota in the penal sum of at least $100,000 conditioned for the payment by such abstracter of any damages that may be sustained by or accrue to any person by reason of or on account of any error, deficiency or mistake arising wrongfully or negligently in any abstract, or continuation thereof, or in any certificate showing ownership of, or interest in, or liens upon any lands in Minnesota, whether registered or not, made by and issued by such abstracter, provided however, that the aggregate liability of the surety to all persons under such bond must in no event exceed the amount of such bond. If the applicant intends to engage in the business of abstracting in any county having more than 200,000 inhabitants, the required bond or insurance policy must be in the penal sum of at least $250,000. The bond or insurance policy must be written by some surety or other company authorized to do business in Minnesota issuing bonds or abstracter's liability insurance policies and must be issued for a period of one or more years, and renewed for one year at the date of expiration as principal continues in business.

  5. Applicants that are title insurance companies regulated by Minnesota Statutes 68A and licensed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 60A.02 and 60A.06, subdivision 1, clause (7), and their employees, are exempt from furnishing the bond or an insurance policy, but will be liable to the same extent as if a bond or insurance policy has been given and filed.

  6. Applicants having cash or securities on deposit with the state of Minnesota in an amount equal to the required bond or insurance policy, will be exempt from furnishing the bond or an insurance policy, but will be liable to the same extent as if a bond or insurance policy has been given and filed. Applicants claiming this exemption must attach proof of the cash or securities on deposit with the state of Minnesota.

Abstracter Company

  1. The license fee is $55. In accordance with Minn. Stat. 16E.22, this fee includes a 10% surcharge, which is being collected on behalf of the Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology to fund a statewide electronic licensing system. In addition, the online system vendor also charges processing fees.

  2. Applicants that are title insurance companies regulated by Minnesota Statutes 68A and licensed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 60A.02 and 60A.06, subdivision 1, clause (7), and their employees, are exempt from furnishing the bond or an insurance policy, but will be liable to the same extent as if a bond or insurance policy has been given and filed.Applicants having cash or securities on deposit with the state of Minnesota in an amount equal to the required bond or insurance policy, shall be exempt from furnishing the bond or an insurance policy, but shall be liable to the same extent as if a bond or insurance policy has been given and filed. Applicants claiming this exemption must attach proof of the cash or securities on deposit with the state of Minnesota.

  3. Applicants having cash or securities on deposit with the state of Minnesota in an amount equal to the required bond or insurance policy, will be exempt from furnishing the bond or an insurance policy, but will be liable to the same extent as if a bond or insurance policy has been given and filed. Applicants claiming this exemption must attach proof of the cash or securities on deposit with the state of Minnesota.