Skip to content

Non-Resident Producers


IMPORTANT NOTICE

Owing to a printing error by our external mailing service, producers and adjusters whose licenses expire at the end of January 2014 were recently (and erroneously) mailed a second renewal reminder postcard, but the second postcard included a different and incorrect license renewal deadline. The license renewal deadline for producers and adjusters whose licenses expire at the end of January 2014 is still January 31, 2014, at 4:30 PM Central Time. Before that time, these individuals must renew their Minnesota licenses online at www.sircon.com/minnesota using the “Renew or Reinstate your license” link. There will be no extension or grace period.

  • Insurance Licensees Questions/Answers (.pdf)
  • If you have questions about how to complete your online application using the Sircon Licensing, please contact Sircon at 517-381-3860.
  • If you have questions about whether a license is required, please consult the License Minnesota website at http://www.license.mn.gov/. Click on "A-Z Indexes" or "Browse by Topics." If the information there does not answer your question, please send an e-mail to licensing.commerce@state.mn.us that explains your activities as specifically as possible.
  • Please note that unlicensed activity may result in administrative action.
  • The most recent statutes are available on the Revisor's Office website and have been updated with the changes to Licensing requirements that took effect on July 1, 2010. Current requirements are available here.

Click on the license type highlighted below for detailed information on requirements and for access to all applicable forms.

  • Information for All Non-Resident Licenses Types

     

    Lapsed Licenses- If you are an insurance producer and you were scheduled to renew your license, but filed to do so on time, you may reinstate it online within one year of the expiration date by paying twice the unpaid renewal fee and meeting the other requirements for reinstatement. Go to Sircon Licensing and click "Renew or Reinstate your license."


    Appointments
    Appointments and terminations must be submitted electronically by the insurance company that appointed the agent.
    • Agents who want their appointments terminated must contact each company that appointed them and request that the company terminate the appointment.
    • The insurance company must terminate the appointment electronically.

    Address Change
    You must make address changes online. Changes submitted via paper will not be processed. If you are moving within your current state of residence, change your address at www.sircon.com/minnesota. If you are moving to a different state, change your address at www.NIPR.com.

    Name Change
    Licensees are required to notify the Commerce Department in writing of any name change within ten days of the change. Use this form to report a name change: Name Change – Insurance Licensee.

     

  • Life, Accident/Health, Property, Casualty, Personal Lines, Credit, Bail Bond, Title, Travel/Baggage, or Farm Property & Liability
    1. Complete the Producer license application online at Sircon Licensing.

    2. The license fee is $50 per line of authority plus (if one or more major lines or farm property and liability is applied for) a $20 Technology Surcharge.

    3. Applicant must appear on NAIC Producer DataBase as with an active Resident license in good standing in another state for each line of authority applied for. 

    4. An individual may obtain a producer license before being appointed by an insurance company, but an appointment is required in order to transact business in Minnesota. Appointments and terminations must be submitted electronically by the Insurance Company that appointed the Agent. Agents who want their appointments terminated must contact each company that appointed them, and request that the company terminate the appointment. The insurance company must terminate the appointment electronically. 

    5. The Minnesota Non-Resident license terminates immediately if the Resident license terminates.

     

  • Variable Life and Variable Annuity
    1. Complete the Producer license application online at Sircon Licensing

    2. The license fee is $50. 

    3. Applicant must appear on NAIC Producer DataBase as with an active Resident license in good standing in another state for the line of authority applied for. 

    4. An individual may obtain a producer license before being appointed by an insurance company, but an appointment is required in order to transact business in Minnesota. Appointments and terminations must be submitted electronically by the Insurance Company that appointed the Agent. Agents who want their appointments terminated must contact each company that appointed them, and request that the company terminate the appointment. The insurance company must terminate the appointment electronically. \

    5. The Minnesota Non-Resident license terminates immediately if the Resident license terminates.

  • Surplus Lines
    1. Complete the Producer license application online at Sircon Licensing

    2. The license fee is $500. 

    3. The Minnesota Non-Resident license terminates immediately if the Resident license terminates.

  • Portable Electronics Insurance Vendor

    A business entity in the business of engaging in portable electronics transactions, directly or indirectly, is required to hold a limited lines license to sell or offer coverage under a policy of portable electronics insurance in connection with, and incidental to, a portable electronics transaction with a customer.
    The following must be submitted for a Portable Electronics Insurance Vendor license:

    1. Completed license application form (download here).

    2. For vendors with ten or fewer locations in Minnesota at which the applicant offers coverage under a policy of portable electronics insurance: License fee in the form of a check (only) for $110 per location made payable to "Minnesota Department of Commerce." In accordance with Minn. Stat. 16E.22, this fee includes a $10 OET surcharge, which is being collected on behalf of the Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology to fund a statewide electronic licensing system. 

    3. For vendors with more than ten locations in Minnesota at which the applicant offers coverage under a policy of portable electronics insurance: License fee in the form of a check (only) for $6,650 made payable to "Minnesota Department of Commerce." In accordance with Minn. Stat. 16E.22, this fee includes a $150 OET surcharge, which is being collected on behalf of the Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology to fund a statewide electronic licensing system.

    4. Please see the Adjusters section of this website for important information concerning fingerprinting requirements for Business Entities that will be adjusting claims relating to portable electronics insurance coverage.

     

  • Travel Insurance Business Entity Producer

    A business entity acting as an insurer designee (such as a managing general underwriter, managing general agent, or licensed limited lines producer of travel insurance) that directs a travel retailer that offers and disseminates travel insurance on its behalf is required to hold a Travel Insurance Business Entity Producer license. As used here, “travel insurance” means insurance coverage for personal risks incident to planned travel, including, but not limited to interruption or cancellation of trip or event; loss of baggage or personal effects; damages to accommodations or rental vehicles; or sickness, accident, disability, or death occurring during travel. “Travel insurance” as used here does not include major medical plans that provide comprehensive medical protection for travelers with trips lasting six months or longer, including those working overseas as an expatriate or military personnel being deployed.

    Additional information and an FAQ document can be found here.

    The following must be submitted for a Travel Insurance Business Entity Producer license:

    1. Completed license application form (download here .doc).

    2. License fee in the form of a check (only) for $220 made payable to "Minnesota Department of Commerce." In accordance with Minn. Stat. §16E.22, this fee includes a $20 OET surcharge, which is being collected on behalf of the Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology to fund a statewide electronic licensing system.